Road: Local man Watts takes Newquay win

Road: Local man Watts takes Newquay win

Home » Road racing

Location: Marshgate, Cornwall
Event: 14 April 2013
Report: David Wring/Snowdon Sports

Newquay Velo Road Race in Davidstow is now in its third year and saw more than 140 racers in three events.

The 2/3/4 category race was incredible given the conditions and the king of the mountains was taken by Jamie Philips.

With a storming attack in full on head wind, the most combative award went to Andrew Feather who launched an attack after the king of mountains and rode supremely well, a very worthy award for a great effort.

But in the overall race, with an attack well established and away, Mid Devon’s Mark Dolan lead a formidable charge bringing back the break away.

Tucked away without being noticed was local star Dan Watts who eats climbs for breakfast and pulled around from the tow, launching for the line on the climb. A master class in road racing coming from a superb rider.

The team award went to Mid Devon with six riders in the top 15, showing class from a racing pedigree club.

The fourth category race quickly broke down to those who had raced before and those who had not. Tavistock Wheelers rode a dream event, showing how to effectively ride as a team.

But Ross Flashman spoiled the party taking the King Of Mountains and first place. A special mention goes to Jon Page of Cornish Alpine Cycling who despite the conditions rode hard to ensure he completed the course after many had gone home.

There was also an amazing race for the ladies in awful conditions with full on head winds and pouring rain, King Of Mountains was taken by Matilda Pauls and the final lap was hard fought not only in racing but in fighting the insane wind which was hitting 49 mph.

The finale saw Matilda storm across the line followed by Cath Newton with the others close behind. A great effort from all involved.


1 Dan Watts (R.A.F)
2 Nick Pilborough (Spin Rotor Primal)
3 Mark Dolan (Mid Devon CC)
4 Jamie Howard (Exeter Wheelers)
5 Andrew Feather (Exeter Wheelers)
6 Andrew Hitchens (Mid Devon CC)
7 Jamie Phillips (Severn RC)
8 Mathew Mildon (Mud Sweat and Gears)
9 Callum Deakin (Mid Devon CC)
10 Tom Baylis (Mid Devon CC)
11 Scott Leakey (Performance Cycles)
12 Jason Kettle (Mid Devon CC)
13 Joel Kelly (Mid Devon CC)
14 Julian Green (Cycle Sport Southams)
15 Ben Hoopell (Exeter wheelers)

1 Ross Flashman (unattached)
2 Phillip Collings (Tavistock Wheelers)
3 William jones (Tavistock Wheelers)
4 Bradley Marston (unattached)
5 Timothy Mitchell (Tavistock Wheelers)
6 Ryan Vale (Somerset RC)
7 Mark Foale (Mid Devon CC)
8 Daniel Strong (Tavistock Wheelers)
9 Lee Adams (Tavistock Wheelers)
10 Rob Beswetherick (Mid Devon CC)

Ladies race:
1 Matilda Pauls (Exeter Wheelers)
2 Cath Newton (Newquay Velo)
3 Claire Elworthy (Exeter Wheelers)
4 Elena Bremer (Exeter Wheelers)
5 Louise Benn (Exeter Wheelers)
6 Gail Aspen (Squadra Donne)
7 Alexandra Sheehan (One and All)
8 Sorrel Johnston (Retraining)


Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.

Membership discount for club members