Road: Pilkington wins Frank Morgan Memorial

Road: Pilkington wins Frank Morgan Memorial

Home » Road racing

Location: North Mersey Business Centre, Kirkby, Merseyside
Event: 31 March 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Second category Frank Pilkington (Bill Nickson Cycles) led in a five-strong break to win Liverpool Mercury (Dolan) CC’s 25-lap Frank Morgan Memorial road race at the North Mersey Business Centre.

Pilkington crossed the line ahead of Kristian Zentek (Team Leapfrog) and Ryan Pike (High On Bikes), who had the consolation of winning the points competition.

Fourth-placed Richard Watson (Paramount CRT-Stan’s Cycles) and tailed-off David Williams (Kuota Spinergy GSG) completed the leading group who had an advantage of half a minute over the rest at the finish.


1 Frank Pilkington Bill Nickson Cycles 02:14:07

2 Kristian Zentek Team Leapfrog st

3 Ryan Pike High on Bikes st

4 Richard Watson Paramount (Stan’s Cycles) st

5 David Williams Kuota Spinergy GSG @0:05

6 Shaun Pearson Ribble Valley CC @0:34

7 Steven Fidler Dave Hinde Racing Team @0:37

8 Elliot Jones Paramount (Stan’s Cycles) st

9 Roy Holmes Bott Cycle Team st

10 James Eastbury Chester Road Club st

11 James Claydon Bill Nixon Cycles st

12 Sam Dobson BC PM st

13 Ryan Davis Bike Box Allen.Com st

14 Rik Swift Liverpool Mercury st

15 Mike Rothwell Manchester Wheelers st

16 Dillion Yates High On Bikes st

17 Garry Spensley Biketreks Racing Academy st

18 Daniel Shoreman Cross Trax st

19 Michal Clarke Team WheelGuru st

20 Andy Gray Wills Wheels st

21 Josh Williams Paramount (stans cycles) st

22 Alex Simmons Swinnerton Cycles st

23 Will Glover Sheffrec CC st

24 Mark Gavock Southport RC st

25 Mark Hassall Dave Hinde Racing Team st

26 Mat Hacker North Cheshire Clarion st

27 Arron Handley Bike Box st

28 James Medows Liverpool Mercury st

29 Paul Ray Ribble Valley CC st

30 Joshua Townson Dirt Wheelers st

31 John Guy High on Bikes st

32 Andrew Wright Bott Cycle Team st

33 Martin Spencer Team Wheelguru st

34 Richard Flynn GMP st

35 Graham Howell Forza Cycles RT st

36 Mat Limarcher Champion Systems Maxgear st

37 Ian Roberts Champion Systems Maxgear st

38 Adam Pickthall Barrow Central Wheelers st

39 Simon Myerscough Ribble Valley CC st

40 Mike Jones Paramount (Stans Cycles) st

41 Chris Danby Preston CC st

42 David Bolland Bike Box @0:52

43 Wayne Greenhalgh Champion Systems Maxgear st

44 Chris Limberger Mercia CC @1:05


1 Ryan Pike High on Bikes19 pts

2 Richard Watson Paramount (Stan’s Cycles)18 pts

3 Graham Howell Forza Cycles RT 16 pts

Veterans: Richard Watson Paramount (Stan’s Cycles)

Juniors: Mark Gavock (Southport RC)

Liverpool Mercury Award: Rik Swift (Liverpool Mercury)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.