Road: Coles and Lowden win in Surrey League Road Races

Home » Road racing

Location: Petersfield, Hampshire
Event: 30 March 2013

Simon Coles (Norwood Paragon) and James Lowden (Lewes Wanderers) were winners in their respective races and a chilly day on the Hampshire Sussex border near to Petersfield.

The race for second and third cat riders covered eight full laps of the circuit. The weather not relenting meant for another chilly ride as the bunch rolled away from the HQ and onto the course.

On the first lap Andrew Feather (PM) and Keith Lea (Addiscombe CC) opened out a 12-second lead. The second lap saw the race all come back together before on lap three James Lowden sprung away and he built up a strong forty second lead which he managed to hold onto few three laps.

While James was riding on his own a group of five built up behind him. The group contained Phillip Peters (Peter Hansford Racing), Richard Phillips-Scofield (Hants Pol), Keith Lea (Addiscombe CC), Michael Brown (Southdown Bikes) and Mike Debney (London Dynamo).

This group was reduced to four when Michael Brown dropped back, but working hard together they managed to pull James back.

These five riders now had a minute lead over the rest of the bunch and they stayed away until the final climb of Milland hill. Over the climb James kicked on and managed to ease away from Mike and Andrew.

The morning race for third cat riders was a fifty mile event with five climbs up the one in five climb of Milland hill. Simon Coles made his move on the second lap easing away from the bunch expecting someone to go with him. After a while he realised he was alone and soon built up a lead of forty seconds.

The remainder of the bunch whilst active could not bring Simon back until the final climb when his lead was reduced to ten seconds.


2/3 Cat:
1 James Lowden Lewes Wanderers
2 Mike Debney London Dynamo
3 Andrew Feather PM
4 Richard Phillips-Scofield Hants Pol
5 Phillip Peters Peter Hansford Racing
6 Tim Wiggins Wightlink LCM Systems
7 William Hunt Norwood Paragon
8 Keith Lea Addiscombe CC
9 Rob Sharland Kingston Wheelers
10 Lawrence Carpenter AW Cycles

Third Cat:
1 Simon Coles Norwood Paragon
2 Gareth Thomas Kingston Wheelers
3 Andrew Keynes VC Meudon
4 Mark Workman Festival RC
5 Mat Hammond Dulwich Paragon

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.

Membership discount for club members