Road: Tanfield takes victory at Middlesbrough

Road: Tanfield takes victory at Middlesbrough

Home » Road racing

Location: Middlesbrough Cycle Circuit
Event: 23 March 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Teenager Harry Tanfield took victory at a freezing Middlesbrough Cycling Circuit on Saturday to win the fourth round of the Highfield Kitchens Spring Cup Series.

The 18-year-old, who rides for the Herbalife-Leisure Lakes team, held off James Alder (Velo 29) for the win, while Alder’s team-mate Matt Kipling took third in the E123 national B race.

In other action at a busy event, Ilkley CC’s Ben Halliworth took the win in the 3/4 cat race, while Grant Worrall (Achieve-Skinnergate Racing) was second and Matthew Worton (Blackhawk Bikes) third.

Alex Foster Team Motivo) won the fourth cat race from David Atkinson (Achieve-Skinnergate Racing), while Andrew Prenelle (Icarus Racing) was third.

And there were some great races throughout the youth programme as well as in the seniors.

In the Boys Under-16s Jake Dobson (Newcastle Phoenix) won from Alex Foster (Team Motivo), with Ben Forsyth (ERC) third. Hamish Turnbull (Tyneside Vagabonds) was best of the Under-14 boys, ahead of runner-up Richie Allen (Newcastle Phoenix) and Cameron Mellis (Discovery CC) third.

In the Under-12 boys race it was Stockton Wheelers’ Joe Wilson who prevailed, while Hetton Hawks’ Hugo Lutz-Atkinson took second ahead of his team-mate Matthew Brooks.

Tyneside Vagabonds duo Matthew Wells and Daniel Holmes took first and second respectively in the Under-10 boys race, while Patrick Killcullen (Stockton Wheelers) was third. And Joel Hurt (Stockton Wheelers) was top in the Under-8 boys.

In the girls racing, Kirsty Boak (Tyneside Vagabonds CC) was best under-16 girl, ahead of Alex Woodcock (Stockton Wheelers).

Fiona Turnbull (Tyneside Vagabonds) was fastest under-14 girl, while Ella Lazenby (Eastlands Velo) won the under-12s. Beth Orchard (Newcastle Phoenix) and Amelie Cleathero (Barnesbury CC) were Under-10 and Under-8 winners respectively.


1 Harry Tanfield (Herbalife-Leisure lakes)
2 James Alder (Velo 29-Blackhawk)
3 Matt Kipling (Velo 29-Blackhawk)
4 Thomas Bustard (Herbalife-Leisure Lakes)
5 Simon Baxter (Herbalife-Leisure Lakes)
6 Daniel Smith (TS Racing)
7 Jack Rees (Achieve-Skinnergate Racing)
8 Chris Fewtrell (Achieve-Skinnergate Racing)
9 Martin Hopkinson (Fietsen Tempo)
10 Simon West (Cyclesense)

3/4 Cat:
1 Ben Halliworth (Ilkley CC)
2 Grant Worrall (Achieve-Skinnergate Racing)
3 Matthew Worton (Blackhawk)
4 Richie Ranson (Houghton CC)
5 Daniel Bryant (Durham Univ CC)
6 Ben Forsyth (ERC)
7 Tony Dickinson (Sunderland Clarion)
8 Gary Taylor (Ferryhill Wheelers)
9 Graham Wood (Achieve-Skinnergate Racing)
10 Harry Craig (Motivo)

4th Cat:
1 Alex Foster (Team Motivo)
2 David Atkinson (Achieve-Skinnergate Racing)
3 Andrew Prenelle (Icarus Racing)
4 William Frazer (unattached)
5 Jamie Pattison (Blackhawk)
6 Dave Ranson (Houghton CC)
7 Joe Blackburn (Team Swift)
8 Phil Bliss (unattached)
9 Paul Robson (unattached)
10 Mark Jenkins (unattached)

1 Jake Dobson (Newcastle Phoenix)
2 Alex Foster (Team Motivo)
3 Ben Forsyth (ERC)

1 Hamish Turnbull (Tyneside Vagabonds)
2 Richie Allen (Newcastle Phoewnix)
3 Cameron Mellis (Discovery CC)

1 Joe Wilson (Stockton Wheelers)
2 Hugo Lutz-Atkinson (Hetton Hawks)
3 Matthew Brooks (Hetton Hawks)

1 Matthew Wells (Tyneside Vagabonds)
2 Daniel Holmes (Tyneside Vagabonds)
3 Patrick Killcullen (Stockton Wheelers)

Under-8s: Joel Hurt (Stockton Wheelers)

1 Kirsty Boak (Tyneside Vagabonds)
2 Alex Woodcock (Stockton Wheelers)

Under-14s: Fiona Turnbull (Tyneside Vagabonds)

1 Ella Lazonby (Eastlands Velo)
2 Robyn Jones (Stockton Wheelers)
3 Eve Baines (Stockton Wheelers)

1 Beth Orchard (Newcastle Phoenix)
2 Letitia Hay (Hetton Hawks)

Under-8s: Amelie Cleathero (Barnesbury CC)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.

Membership discount for club members