Road: Bjergfelt gets off the mark For MG-Maxifuel

Road: Bjergfelt gets off the mark For MG-Maxifuel

Home » Road racing

Location: Inkberrow, Worcestershire
Event: 17 March 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Celebrating the official launch of the MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling team five days earlier, Will Bjergfelt got off the mark for the year in the 63-mile Evesham Vale Road Race.

Bjergfelt (pictured) prevailed over Matt Higgins (Felt Colbornes Hargroves Cycles) and Tom Murray (Metaltek-Knights of Old RT) after four and a half laps of the Inkberrow circuit with a gap of 15 seconds to Metaltek’s Will Fox in fourth place.

Racing in unexpectedly dry conditions, the leading three broke away over the finishing climb with two laps to go and built up a maximum lead of around a minute which proved enough of a gap for them to fight out the finish without any threat from behind.

“It’s the first win of the season for me and I’m really happy for that,” said 34-year-old Bjergfelt, from Bristol. “It’s worked out really well for us after the team launch and we’re not far from the MG headquarters at Longbridge.

“There were a lot of moves going up the road but nothing was sticking, everyone was keen to do something., and when I got away with Matt and Tom, it was a quite a shock.

“There were two laps to go and it looked like a good move with three teams represented, so we said we would work together right until a kilometre from the end and that’s what we did, going through and off.

“Matt opened up the sprint, I got on his wheel and waited, and with 25 or 30 metres to go I just managed to get over the top of him.

“It was important to get a win in this for our team director, Rod Freeman, as Declan Byrne won it for him last year with the Cycle Premier team. Declan was due to ride today but has gone down with a sinus infection.”


1 Will Bjergfelt (MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling)
2 Matt Higgins (Felt Colbornes Hargroves Cycles)
3 Tom Murray (Metaltek-Knights of Old RT)
4 Will Fox (Metaltek-Knights of Old RT)
5 Will Goldbourne (Team V-Sprint Racing)
6 Antoine Gaudillat (Spin Rotor Primal)
7 Will Rudgard (Rapid Performance)
8 David McGowan (Metaltek-Knights of Old RT)
9 Dave Lines (MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling)
10 Perry Bowater (MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.


Watch the team live
Membership discount for club members