Road: Pullar wins latest CDNW League Road Race

Road: Pullar wins latest CDNW League Road Race

Home » Road racing

Location: Saighton, Cheshire
Event: 10 March 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Jack Pullar secured victory for Madison Genesis in the second round of the CDNW League, a 90-kilometre race based on a circuit near Saighton in Cheshire on Sunday.

The 23-year-old from Carnforth, who was 26th when the CDNW League visited Saighton at the same time last season, sprinted clear of his six rivals at the end of the race, holding off Richard Handley (Rapha Condor JLT) for the win.

With two laps of the eight circuits left to go Pullar was back in the main bunch, with a break having gone clear, and he looked to have missed the decisive move.

But he launched a ferocious attack from the middle of the bunch to chase down the leaders. A couple of other riders tried to get on his wheel but his pace proved too much as he powered off in search of glory.

“I didn’t feel that great to start with today,” he said afterwards. “It was so cold and snowing for most of the race, but I guess it was the same for everyone.

“I was about half way down the field and attacked as hard as I could, and nobody could get on my wheel. When I got across to the leaders everybody was working well and pulling through, so we stayed clear and it came down to a sprint.

“A Raleigh rider attacked with about one kilometre to go but was pulled back. Then Simon Wilson (Corley Cycles) had a go, but he came back too. I left it as late as I could, and got the win.”


1 Jack Pullar Madison Genesis 2:11:45

2 Richard Handley Rapha Condor JLT

3 Unidentified Unidentified Raleigh

4 Ben Greenwood Team Hope Factory Racing

5 Simon Wilson Team Corley Cycles

6 Thomas Bustard Herbalife-Leisure Lakes

7 Richard Wilkinson 4 Star Racing

8 Tom Barras Wheelbase Altura MGD @19 sec

9 James Gullen Team Hope Factory Racing

10 Dillon Byrne Champion System/Maxgear/Base @ 30 sec

11 William Haynes Herbalife-Leisure Lakes

12 Andy Leigh Velocity WD-40 @ 37 sec

13 Ross Edgar IG Sigma Sport @ 1:16

14 Stephen Abbott Teamwallis CHH Racing Team

15 Gary Hand Herbalife-Leisure Lakes

16 Henry Hunter Teamwallis CHH Racing Team

17 Alastair Hepworth VS Cycles, Brighouse

18 Alistair Rutherford Wheelbase Altura MGD

19 Unidentified Unidentified Rapha Condor JLT @ 1:27

20 Chris Sherriffs Team Leapfrog @ 1:56

21 Frank Pilkington Bill Nickson Cycles RT

22 Benÿ Dean Leap Frogÿ

23 Tom Bracegirdle Biketreks Racing Academy

24 Michael Rawson Kuota - Spinergy - GSG

25 Stephen Smith Champion System/Maxgear/Kyklos

26 Shaun Pearson Ribble Valley CRC @ 2:05

27 Mark Hammersley 0 st

28 Conan Mayman Team @ 2:30

29 Lee Baldwin Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles

30 Jacob Tipper Biketreks Racing Academy

31 Scott McCrossan Rock to Roll Cycles Ltd

32 Karl Freeman Team Wheelguru

33 Unidentified Unidentified Unidentified @ 3:05

34 Unidentified Unidentified Unidentified st

35 Craig Battersby Team Leapfrog @ 4:01

36 Tom Murray Metaltek - Knights of Old Racing Team

37 Jonathan Cregeen Biketreks Racing Academy

38 Leigh Cowell Kuota - Spinergy - GSG

39 Andrew Hawdon Herbalife-Leisure Lakes

40 James Sampson Herbalife-Leisure Lakes

41 Michael Harrison 4 Star Racing

42 Unidentified Unidentified Herbalife

43 David McGowan Metaltek - Knights of Old Racing Team

44 Michael Ashurst Biketreks Racing Academy @ 1 lap

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.

Membership discount for club members