Road: Imperial win for Dante Carpenter

Home » Road racing

Location: Hillingdon circuit, London
Event: 2 February 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

It was a Pedal Heaven RT one-two as teenager Dante Carpenter and last year’s champion Jamie Pine were first over the line in the penultimate round of the Imperial Winter Series at Hillingdon.

It was Carpenter who crossed the line first, although Pine took second and enjoyed success in the prime, taking first place ahead of Conall Yates (InGear Quickvit Trainsharp).

Dante said after the race: “There were three of us from our team today and I managed to get away on the first lap but I was caught after a little while but we counter attacked and Jamie and I got across.

“Any of us could of won, but I managed to take it. I won by about 10 seconds, I knew I had to hold a little bit back for the last lap because Jamie’s very strong in the sprint.

“It was my first race of this year and to win is a good omen for next week, I’m riding in Perf’s Pedal Race which has a very good field.

“I’ll just go into that and try my best, it’s very early in the season and really you have to be at best in that race.

“I rode in it a few years ago and it was very tough. I was ill last year, had a really bad virus and I didn’t get back until the end of July. Now I have my health back and I’m feeling strong again.”

William Goulbourne (Team V-Sprint Racing) snatched victory in both the race and the prime in the category three race and Alex Niven did the same in the category four race.

The final round of the series takes place next Saturday with Metaltek-Scott’s Tony Gibb heading up the table going into the 12 stage.

There will be a series presentation after the race by Britain’s most successful six day rider, Tony Doyle MBE.


1 Dante Carpenter (Pedal Heaven RT)
2 Jamie Pine (Pedal Heaven RT)
3 Robert Willcocks (Royal Air Force CC)
1 Jamie Pine (Pedal Heaven RT)
2 Conall Yates (InGear Quickvit Trainsharp)
3 James Locker (Team V-Sprint Racing)

Cat 3:
1 William Goulbourne (Team V-Sprint Racing)
2 Adam Stone (Velosport)
3 Graham Crow (Twickenham CC)
1 William Goulbourne (Team V-Sprint Racing)
2 Theo Doncaster (CC Ashwell)
3 Greg Wiltshire (Kingston Wheelers)

Cat 4:
1 Alex Niven (unattached)
2 Will Greig (SWRouleurs)
3 Darryl Bates-Brownsword (Zappi’s CC)
1 Alex Niven (unattached)
2 Will Greig (SW Rouleurs)
3 Scott Shepherd (London Dynamo)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.


Watch the team live
Membership discount for club members