Road: Gibb returns with Imperial victory

Home » Road racing

Location: Hillingdon circuit, London
Event: January 5 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Tony Gibb’s domination of the Imperial Winter Series continued as he returned from his break over Christmas and New Year to claim his fifth win.

The 36-year-old sat out of round six on New Year’s Day but was already in a strong position having won four of the first five races.

Having switched to The Pack Racing, he will have pleased his new team immensely with a competent display. Tom Smith of Felt-Colbornes RT finished in second with Zappi’s CC’s Jozef Metelka in third. The winner of the Neon-Velo prime was Portsmouth North End CC’s Jerry Collingwood.

In the category three race, it was Ken Buckley of AW Cycles who took victory, leading from Steve Atkinson (Southdowns Bikes CC) and James Dunsbier (London Dynamo). Neil Wass (TMG Horizon RT) won the Neon-Velo prime.

Finally, the fourth category race saw Ian Phillips bag both the win and the prime.


1 Tony Gibb (The Pack Racing)
2 Tom Smith (Felt-Colbornes RT)
3 Jozef Metelka (Zappi’s CC)
Neon-Velo prime:
1 Jerry Collingwood (Portsmouth North End CC)
2 Paul Holdsworth (unattached)
3 Arjan Planting (Dulwich Paragon)
Cat 3:
1 Ken Buckley (AW Cycles)
2 Steve Atkinson (Southdowns Bikes CC)
3 James Dunsbier (London Dynamo)
Neon-Velo prime:
1 Neil Wass (TMG Horizon RT)
2 James Dunsbier (London Dynamo)
3 Greg Wiltshire (Kingston Wheelers)
Cat 4:
1 Ian Phillips (unattached)
2 Ross Hallard (unattached)
3 Grant Little (London Dynamo)
Neon-Velo prime:
1 Ian Phillips (unattached)
2 Giles Porter (London Dynamo)
3 Alvaro Alves Da Cunha (unattached)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.