Road: Haynes steps up for Rhyl win

Home » Road racing

Location: Marsh Tracks, Rhyl, North Wales
Event: 12 September 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Beaten into third place at Rhyl CC’s circuit races four days earlier, Will Haynes (Herbalife-Leisure Lakes Bikes) made amends by winning the final round of the Graham Weigh Cycles Series at Marsh Tracks.

The 21-year-old university student, from Penrhyndeudraeth in North Wales, outsprinted Dan Whelan (Onimpex-Bioracer) and Todd Hotchkiss (Performance Cycles-CMI U23) on a tough night when gales battered some of the field into submission.

Local second category Matt Limacher (Champion System-Maxgear-Kyklos) was with them until dropped towards the end of the race, but he continued on his own for fourth place ahead of Dylan Kerfoot-Robson (Rhos-On-Sea CC), who took the bunch sprint for fifth having already lapped the rest of the field with the leading quartet.

Rhyl CC's 62-year-old Alan Forrester gave a remarkable performance to finish sixth and gain enough points to move up to a second category licence in his first season of road racing.

Alex Harvey (Rhos-On-Sea CC) for once managed to outfox the previously dominant Birkenhead North End CC duo of Jack Hulme and Max Spedding in the Youth A race, while Sol Kerfoot-Robson (Rhos-On-Sea CC) landed his 16th win of the season.


1 Will Haynes (Herbalife-Leisure Lakes Bikes) 56-30
2 Dan Whelan (Onimpex-Bioracer) same time
3 Todd Hotchkiss (Performance Cycles-CMI U23) at 2 sec
4 Matt Limacher (Champion System-Maxgear-Kyklos) at 47 sec
5 Dylan Kerfoot-Robson (Rhos-On-Sea CC) at 1-11
6 Alan Forrester (Rhyl CC)
7 Kristian Bond (Ystwyth CC)
8 Mark Jones (BNC Private Member)
9 Chris Williams (VC Melyd)
10 Terry Glynn (VC Melyd) all same time

Youth A
1 Alex Harvey (Rhos-On-Sea CC) 26-28
2 Jack Hulme (Birkenhead North End CC) same time
3 Max Spedding (Birkenhead North End CC) at 2 sec
4 James Faulkner (Deeside Olympic) at 3 sec
5 Jake Lovatt (BC Private Member) at 4 sec
6 Tom Harding (BC Private Member) at 11 sec
Girl: Lona Roberts (BC Private Member)

Youth B
1 David Tudor (Rhyl CC)
2 Morgan Hughes (Rhyl CC)
3 Jack Nash (Coed Llandegla North Wales MTB Association)
Girl: Elain Davies (Clwb Beicio Dwyfor CC)

Youth C
1 Sol Kerfoot-Robson (Rhos-On-Sea CC)
2 Twm Bryn (CB Dwyfor)
3 Sven Grube (Rhyl CC)
Girl: Nicole Clarke (Port Sunlight Wheelers)

Youth D
1 Luca Bennett (Rhyl CC)
2 Scott Williams (BC Private Member)

Youth E
1 Huw Buck Jones (CB Dwyfor)
2 Isaac Lawrence (BC Private Member)
3 Andrew Clarke (Port Sunlight Wheelers)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.