Road: Latimer wins Bicicielo Pinarello GP

Home » Road racing

Location: Inkberrow, Worcestershire
Event: 26 August 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Dream CC’s Henry Latimer took victory in the Bicicielo Pinarello Grand Prix in Worcestershire on Sunday, timing his move to perfection at the end of the 56-mile race around Inkberrow.

The 19-year-old Oxfordshire-based rider secured his first category licence on the back of the victory, which came after a spell racing in Belgium.

“It was quite a negative race with quite a lot of breaks getting away but nobody really working hard enough for them to stay away and nothing was sticking,” he said afterwards.

On the last of four laps of the 15-mile circuit a break finally did get away, with six riders going about a minute clear.

Latimer had missed the initial break, but he chased them down hard with Matt Clarke (Halesowen A&CC).

They caught the escapees with around 500 metres to go and, continuing their effort, Clarke and Latimer ploughed straight through and hit the front. While Clarke led out the sprint, Latimer overtook his rival in the final 100 metres and took victory.

“I didn’t feel particularly handy early in the race,” added Latimer. “But I felt better as the race went on, and there plenty of attacks going so I felt confident I could get on to one of them.”

While Clarke took second spot, David Palmer (Spin Rotor) completed the podium in third spot. The rest of the leading break were not far behind, while the remains of the chasing bunch were around 45 seconds further off the pace.


1 Henry Latimer (Dream CC)
2 Matt Clarke (Halesowen A&CC)
3 David Palmer (Spin Rotor)
4 Mark Lovatt (Planet X)
5 Adrian Lawson (Cadence Cannondale)
6 Will Hayter (London Dynamo)
7 Rupert Denny (GWR Team)
8 Matt Jennings (Lutterworth Cycle Centre)
9 Matthew Connor (Supernova Cycles)
10 Andrew Marsh (Dinnington RC)
11 Tony Kiss (Rapid Performance Coaching)
12 Bevan Humphreys (Urban Cyclery)
13 Mark Flay (Kenilworth Wheelers)
14 Matthew Bonehill (Stafford RC)
15 Lee Plant (PSUK)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.