Solo win for Watkinson at Harworth

Home » Road racing

Location: Harworth, near Sheffield
Event: 05 August 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Attacking on the last of the 18 laps, Rob Watkinson (Doncaster Wheelers) went clear to record a fine solo win in Rutland CC’s 63-mile road race on the Harworth circuit – amended slightly due to roadworks – in South Yorkshire.

The 38-year-old, from Rotherham, secured his second win of the season ahead of Josh Cole (Bike Box Alan/Whiston Velo) and Dominic Smith (We Love Mountains RT) who had been in the thick of the action throughout.

Smith made his first move on the opening lap, jumping away to be joined by Matthew Jennings, Michael Marshall and Zack Whitehead, and the four stayed out in front until lap 15 when the chasing bunch bridged the gap.

Watkinson went straight through with only Cole and Smith able to follow, and the three leaders worked to establish a winning gap before Watkinson made his final move.


1 Rob Watkinson (Doncaster Wheelers) 2-32-53
2 Josh Cole (Bike Box Alan/Whiston Velo) at 30 sec
3 Dominic Smith (We Love Mountains RT) same time
4 Chris Southworth (Leigh Premier RC) at 55 sec
5 Alex Orrell-Turner (VS Cycles)
6 Andrew Marsh (Dinnington RC)
7 Richard Binks (Clay Cross RT)
8 Tom Neale (
9 Simon Maudlsey (RVO Racing)
10 Alastair Hepworth (Batley CC)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.