Road: Rowe leads 1-2 for Wales in Cornwall

Home » Road racing

Location: RAF Portreath, Redruth, Cornwall
Event: 30 June 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Off the front for the second half of the 60-km elite race, Matt Rowe (Metaltek-Scott) outsprinted breakaway companion Hefin Price (Team Wiggle) in a one-two for Welsh riders at the seventh round of the Cornish Series.

The two worked well together to stay clear on an exposed and windswept circuit at RAF Portreath and had a gap of 15 seconds over chasers James Lewis and Ben Simmons (both Team Wiggle) at the line, where 24-year-old Rowe, from Cardiff, clinched his first victory of the season.

Junior Heffernan (One and All Cycling) made a brave effort to get across to the two leaders, closing the gap to around 12 seconds as he chased alone for a number of laps, but he tired and went back to the bunch before Lewis and Simmons jumped away in the closing stages to contest third place.

Jon Mould (An Post-M) led in the rest seven seconds later with Blake Pond (North Devon Wheelers-South Fork) sixth to secure the South West Regional title and add to the road race crown he won in May.

Wiebke Rietz (1st Chard Wheelers) secured the regional title as winner of the women’s race.


1 Matt Rowe (Metaltek-Scott)
2 Hefin Price (Team Wiggle)
3 James Lewis (Team Wiggle) at 15 sec
4 Ben Simmons (Team Wiggle) same time
5 Jon Mould (An Post-M) at 22 sec
6 Blake Pond (North Devon Wheelers-South Fork)
7 Adam Bright (Primal Europe)
8 Mark Barlow (Newquay Velo)
9 Darren Manser (One and All Cycling)
10 Junior Heffernan (One and All Cycling) all same time
1 Adrian Sluman (Plymouth Corinthian CC)
2 Martin Lenney (Penzance Wheelers)
3 Andrew Ellis (
4 Jacob Keatt (Rutrainingtoday CC)
5 Tim McEvoy (Newquay Velo)
6 Luke Pye (Penzance Wheelers)
7 Jayson Weale (Rutrainingtoday CC)
8 Theo Brumhead (Exeter University CC)
9 Dudley Hayton (East Bradford CC)
10 William Hornby (Cycle Sport South Hams)
1 Wiebke Rietz (1st Chard Wheelers)
2 Gail Aspen (Squadra Donna)
3 Sam Kelly (Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA)
Under 16:
1 Ricky Parsons (One and All Cycling)
2 Duncan Heywood (One and All Cycling)
3 Stan Thompson (One and All Cycling
Under 14:
1 Seb Dickens (Cycle Sport South Hams)
2 Ryan White (1st Chard Wheelers)
3 Joe Sanders (Mid Devon CC)
1 Hester Stembridge (

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.