Top field confirmed for Newcastle Leazes Criteriums

Top field confirmed for Newcastle Leazes Criteriums

Home » Road racing

Event: 29 June 2012
Location: Leazes Park, Newcastle

Newcastle’s Leazes Criteriums, which take place on Friday 29 June as part of the Virgin Money Cyclone weekend, are set to be the best ever thanks to a fantastic field of riders.

Entries for the eilte race at the event, which takes place in Newcastle’s central Leazes Park, have been pouring in, with riders from top UK domestic teams including 100%ME, Endura Racing, NODE 4 Giordana Racing, Rapha Condor Sharp, Team IG Sigma Sport and Team Raleigh-GAC.

Organiser Peter Harrison said: “It’s been a great criterium racing season so far, and I’m really pleased that’s continuing on to the Virgin Money Cyclone weekend. It is definitely the best field we’ve ever had, and I cannot wait to see so many top class racers tackle the tight and twisty Leazes Criterium course.”

The Leazes Criteriums are a popular part of the Virgin Money Cyclone weekend. Riders in the following day’s Virgin Money Cyclone Challenge Rides can sign on for their ride there while relaxing in the park watching some great racing.

For the first time this year the Leazes Criteriums are not the Cyclone weekend’s opening event thanks to the new Tyne 6 Bridges leisure rides, which are taking place on the evening of Thursday 28 June.

On Saturday 30 June, up to 4,000 riders will take on the Virgin Money Cyclone Challenges – one of the UK’s biggest mass participation bike rides. On Sunday 1 July it is the turn of the professionals, with the Curlew Cup women’s race in the morning and the Beaumont Trophy men’s race in the afternoon.

For more information and to sign up for the Virgin Money Cyclone weekend, visit You can follow @VMCyclone on Twitter and like the Virgin Money Cyclone page on Facebook.

Final Start List

George Atkins 100%ME
Grant Ferguson 100%ME
Joe Kelly 100%ME
Owain Doull 100%ME
Tom Moses 100%ME
Alistair Slater 100%ME
Simon Yates 100%ME
Sam Harrison 100%ME
Richard Hepworth Cyclepremier kovert
Scott Thwaites Endura Racing
Robert Partridge Endura Racing
Jon Tiernan-Locke Endura Racing
Ian Wilkinson Endura Racing
Jonathan McEvoy Endura Racing
Russell Downing Endura Racing
Ian Bibby Endura Racing
Paul Voss Endura Racing
Ian Field Hargroves Cycles
Matt Cronshaw NODE4 Giordana Racing
Matt Higgins NODE4 Giordana Racing
Rico Rogers NODE4 Giordana Racing
James Moss NODE4 Giordana Racing
David Clarke NODE4 Giordana Racing
Luke Grivell Mellor Rapha Condor Sharp
Felix English Rapha Condor Sharp
James McCallum Rapha Condor Sharp
Richard Handley Rapha Condor Sharp
Dean Downing Rapha Condor Sharp
Richard Lang Rapha Condor Sharp
Ben Grenda Rapha Condor Sharp
Oliver Rossi Rapha Condor Sharp
Chris Sherriffs team Bglobal
Thomas Last Team IG Sigma Sport
Dan Craven Team IG Sigma Sport
Peter Hawkins Team IG Sigma Sport
Daniel Lloyd Team IG Sigma Sport
Simon Richardson Team IG Sigma Sport
Graham Briggs Team Raleigh-GAC
Liam Holohan Team Raleigh-GAC
Simon Holt Team Raleigh-GAC
Daniel Holloway Team Raleigh-GAC
Evan Oliphant Team Raleigh-GAC
Tobyn Horton Team Raleigh-GAC
Jeroen Janssen Team Raleigh-GAC
Bernard Sulzberger Team Raleigh-GAC
Harry Tanfield Team Wallis
Greg Mansell Team Youth UK Pro Cycling
James Lowsley Williams Team Youth UK Pro Cycling
Gruffud Lewis Team Youth UK Pro Cycling
Niklas Gustavsson Team Youth UK Pro Cycling
Magnus Backstedt Team Youth UK Pro Cycling
Yanto Barker Team Youth UK Pro Cycling
James Stewart Team Youth UK Pro Cycling
Chris Opie Team Youth UK Pro Cycling
Jack Kirk UVCA Troyes
Jack Adams Zappisprocycling