Road: Cuming leads Rapha Condor 1-2 in Kalas Cup

Home » Road racing

Location: Merryfield Airfield, Ilton, Somerset
Event: 16-17 June 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Richard Handley (Rapha Condor-Sharp) won the Kalas Cup Two-Day stage race in Somerset after snatching the yellow jersey away from his team-mate Mike Cuming in the final stage on Sunday.

Victory in Stage Four went to Rhys Lloyd (Metaltek-Scott) who took a solo win in style, finishing 1-56 ahead of Handley in the Team Tor 200 promotion.

But Handley had done enough to move ahead of Cuming and take the overall win, while Lloyd was second overall, exactly two minutes behind Handley, while Cuming was third, a further eight seconds back.

James Gullen (Metaltek-Scott) edged out Handley in the opening 5-km time trial at Merryfield Airfield, Ilton, before Cuming staked his claim with victory ahead of James Williams (Primal Europe) in the following criterium, contested over one hour and one lap.

Rapha then turned the screw in the 15-km team time trial which closed the action for the day, beating Metlatek-Scott into second place by 42 seconds to leave Cuming in a strong position overnight.

But Handley did just enough on the final day to take the win.


Prologue (5km)
1 James Gullen (Metaltek-Scott) 6-30.3
2 Richard Handley (Rapha Condor Sharp) 6-31.0
3 Pete Vincent (Mid Devon CC) 6-34.4
4 Andrew Perkins (Mid Devon CC) 6-34.6
5 Ben Anstie (Cadence Cannondale RT) 6-39.0

Circuit Race
1 Mike Cuming (Rapha Condor Sharp) 1-05-15
2 James Williams (Primal Europe)
3 Rhys Lloyd (Metaltek-Scott)
4 Ben Grenda (Rapha Condar Sharp)
5 Ash Martin (Cadence Cannondale RT)

Team time trial (15km)
1 Rapha Condor Sharp 19-16
2 Metaltek-Scott 19-58
3 Team Wiggle 20-17
4 Cadence Cannondale RT 20-26
5 Zappi’s Pro Cycling 20-33
6 Primal Europe 20-59

Stage Four
1 Rhys Lloyd Metaltek-Scott) 2:54:11
2 Richard Handley (Rapha Condor-Sharp) @ 1:56
3 George Moore (Cycle Premier)
4 Adam Cotterell (Zappi’s Pro Cycling)
5 Jack Adams (Zappi’s Pro Cycling)
6 George Tansley (Cycle Premier)

1 Richard Handley 4:24:50
2 Rhys Lloyd @ 2:00
3 Mike Cuming @ 2:08
4 James Gullen @ 3:00
5 Adam Cotterell at 3:56
6 Helfin Price (Team Wiggle) at 3:59

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.