Road: Crombie wins ELV Road Race

Home » Road racing

Location: Hatfield Heath, Essex
Event: 27 May 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

East London Velo rider Wayne Crombie sprinted to victory at the end his own club’s 66-mile road race staged around Hatfield Heath in Essex on Sunday.

The 39-year-old Londoner edged ahead of 25-year-old Hertfordshire-based rival Jonathan Shubert (High Wycombe CC) in the two-up sprint finish, while the final spot on the podium went to Shubert’s team-mate Adam Brittain, 26 and from Thame.


1 Wayne Crombie East London Velo 2:41:00
2 Jonathan Shubert High Wycombe Cycling Club @ same time
3 Adam Brittain High Wycombe Cycling Club @ 22 sec
4 Malcolm Smith St Ives CC
5 Gavin Moore Pro Cycle Hire UK Racing Team
6 Jeremy Ross CC Ashwell (CCA) @ 48 sec
7 Mark Baines Spirit Racing Team @ 52 sec
8 Mark Westrup Strada-Sport
9 Timothy Butt Maldon & District CC
10 Daniel Crawley Pro Cycle Hire UK Racing Team
11 Samuel King Cambridge CC
12 Lee Rowe Finchley Racing Team
13 Robert Windsor East London Velo
14 Russell Ford Glade CC
15 Wayne Maguire Pro Cycle Hire UK Racing Team
16 Graham Galvin East London Velo
17 Lubomir Belak Welwyn Whls CC
18 Nigel Stephens Finchley Racing Team
19 Jack Edwards P M Racing
20 Kevin Jeffries Velo Schils - Interbike RT
21 Clive Richardson Chelmer CC
22 Edward Farnell Cambridge CC
23 James Jobber Colchester Rovers CC
24 Ian Franklin Pro Cycle Hire UK Racing Team
25 Sean Kilroy Glade CC
26 Colin Ward Essex Roads CC
27 Dermot Kealey Finchley Racing Team
28 Christopher Dredge Team Corley Cycles/Blue
29 Stuart Clarke Chelmer CC
30 John Peters CC Luton
31 Mark Beattie Maldon & District CC
32 Lee Desborough St Ives CC
33 Thomas Smith Cycle Club Hackney
34 Richard Price London Phoenix CC
35 Ben Wright VC Revolution
36 Ralph Mullan Shaftesbury CC
37 Benjamin Lewis Finsbury Park CC
38 Mark Hurrell Velo Schils - Interbike RT
39 Hugh Vivian Finsbury Park CC
40 Michael Rostoft Chelmer CC
41 Mark Warren Fenland Clarion CC
42 William Jenkins Spirit Racing Team
43 Matthew Carter Velo Schils - Interbike RT
44 Carmelo Luggeri CC Ashwell (CCA)
45 Benjamin Brown Cycling Club Hackney
46 Philip Murrell Finsbury Park CC
47 Glyndwr Thomas VC Norwich
48 Trevor Ormes Velo Schils - Interbike RT @ 59 sec
49 Patrick Schils Velo Schils - Interbike RT
50 Sean Wright Shaftesbury CC @ 1:00
51 Peter Hargreaves Strada-Sport @ 1:03
52 Jaroslaw Kobylinski Ipswich BC @ 1:15
53 Grant Smith Crest CC
54 Vince Divine Finchley Racing Team @ 1:19
55 Daniel Snow Glendene CC @ 3:19
56 Damien Foy Eagle RC @ 3:41
57 Warren Coe Stowmarket & District CC @ 5:06
58 Philip Thomerson VC Norwich
59 Simon Alexander Southend Wheelers
60 William Hedden Glade CC

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.