Report: 2012 Giro d'Italia Stage 7

Home » Road racing

Stage 7 – Recanati to Rocca di Cambio, 205km
12 May 2012

Team Sky's Sergio Henao and Rigoberto Urán both finished just 11 seconds back as Paolo Tiralongo (Astana) won a thrilling seventh stage of the Giro d'Italia and Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Barracuda) moved into the overall lead.

Henao crossed the line in 11th while fellow Colombian Urán was 24th as they moved up the general classification. Urán is now 15th, 53 seconds behind Hesjedal, while Henao is 22nd, 1:10 adrift. They are also third and fifth respectively in the young rider standings.

The first mountain stage of the race, which took the riders 205 kilometres from Recanati, only really came to life on the final climb up to Rocca di Cambio. Lampre-ISD had looked to set it up for local hero Michele Scarponi and he launched his attack on one of the steepest sections inside the final kilometre but Tiralongo was able to jump from the pack and he used his finishing kick to good effect as he pushed himself to the limit to take the win.

Fränk Schleck (RadioShack-Nissan) was third, three seconds back, stage favourite Joaquim Rodríguez (Katusha) fourth and Hesjedal fifth. With previous leader Adriano Malori (Lampre-ISD) having been dropped early on the climb, it means that Hesjedal is the new holder of the maglia rosa.

Team Sky Reaction

Steven de Jongh, Team Sky Sports Director:

"Rigo and Sergio didn’t lose much time and were right up there so that was good.

"Everybody is helping out each other and the atmosphere is great, as you’d expect after that second win on Thursday. All the work the Colombians did there for Mark Cavendish was really appreciated and now the boys are helping them.

"The climbs were more steady today compared to yesterday and there was a small breakaway which went in the first kilometre so it was easier to control for Lampre.”


Stage 7 – Recanati to Rocca di Cambio, 205km
1 Paolo Tiralongo (Ita) Astana Pro Team 5:51:03
2 Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre - ISD
3 Frank Schleck (Lux) RadioShack-Nissan 0:00:03
4 Joaquim Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) Katusha Team
5 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Garmin - Barracuda 0:00:05
6 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox 0:00:09
7 Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) Katusha Team
8 Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale
9 Mikel Nieve Ituralde (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi 0:00:11
10 Gianluca Brambilla (Ita) Colnago - CSF Inox
11 Sergio Luis Henao Montoya (Col) Sky Procycling same time
24 Rigoberto Uran Uran (Col) Sky Procycling
123 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Sky Procycling 0:17:21
177 Ian Stannard (GBr) Sky Procycling
178 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Sky Procycling
179 Peter Kennaugh (GBr) Sky Procycling
180 Jeremy Hunt (GBr) Sky Procycling

General classification after stage 7
1 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Garmin - Barracuda 26:16:53
2 Paolo Tiralongo (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:00:15
3 Joaquim Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) Katusha Team 0:00:17
4 Christian Vande Velde (USA) Garmin - Barracuda 0:00:21
5 Peter Stetina (USA) Garmin - Barracuda 0:00:26
6 Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) Katusha Team
7 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Astana Pro Team 0:00:35
8 Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale 0:00:40
9 Damiano Caruso (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale 0:00:45
10 Dario Cataldo (Ita) Omega Pharma-Quickstep 0:00:46
15 Rigoberto Uran Uran (Col) Sky Procycling 0:00:53
116 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Sky Procycling 0:30:35
117 Peter Kennaugh (GBr) Sky Procycling 0:31:20
138 Ian Stannard (GBr) Sky Procycling 0:36:31
168 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Sky Procycling 0:48:40
191 Jeremy Hunt (GBr) Sky Procycling 1:09:50

Points classification 1 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) Orica GreenEdge Cycling Team 65 pts
2 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Sky Procycling 53
3 Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Androni Giocattoli 36
4 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Sky Procycling 26
5 Paolo Tiralongo (Ita) Astana Pro Team 25

Mountains classification
1 Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Col) Androni Giocattoli 24 pts
2 Michal Golas (Pol) Omega Pharma-Quickstep 16
3 Paolo Tiralongo (Ita) Astana Pro Team 9
4 Cesare Benedetti (Ita) Team NetApp 7
5 Alfredo Balloni (Ita) Farnese Vini - Selle Italia 6