Road: Birmingham Circuit Win For Wilson

Home » Road racing

Location: Birmingham Business Park, Solihull Parkway
Event: 29 April 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Strongman Simon Wilson (Metaltek-Scott) dominated the rest of the elite field to score a decisive victory in the feature event of the Birmingham Circuit Races at Solihull Parkway.

The Burnley 31-year-old made light of heavy rain and strong, gusting wind around the mile-long Birmingham Business Park course to lap all his rivals and claim his second criterium victory of the season ahead of Ian Knight (Team Corley Cycles), who edged out Sam Lowe (Hargroves Cycles) in a tight sprint for second place.


1 Simon Wilson (Metaltek-Scott)
2 Ian Knight (Team Corley Cycles)
3 Sam Lowe (Hargroves Cycles)
4 Jake Martin (Cycle Premier-Kovert)
5 Jamie Burgan (Langsett Cycles RT)
6 Matthew Bonehill (Stafford RC)
7 Clem Berrill (Twenty3c-Orbea)
8 Alan Davies (BC PM)
9 Gregg Payne (Arbis LLP)
10 James Newey (Cadence Sport)

1 George Rowlands (Mid Shropshire Wheelers)
2 Mark Cotton (Bycka Sport Racing)
3 Paul Jones (NFTO)
4 Jason Colledge (Wolverhampton Wheelers)
5 Stephen Edwards (Wolverhampton Wheelers)
6 James Jenkins (Wyre Forest CRC)
7 Jack Mills (Halesowen A&CC)
8 Ben Crone (Halesowen A&CC)
9 Henry Knott (Birmingham University CC)
10 Ian Cowan (Solihull CC)

4th cat:
1 Kallen Kerr (Glasgow Wheelers)
2 Jody Bett (VC Lincoln)
3 Stephen Howgill (Leicestershire RC)
4 Tom Holland (Kenilworth Wheelers)
5 Stefan Harrison (Stourbridge CC)
6 Christopher Cleaver (Concorde CC)
7 Nick Preece (NFTO)
8 James Jevons (Stourbridge Velo)
9 Gerald McDermott (Gannet CC)
10 Craig Floyd (RM Cycling)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.