Road: Haworth returns with a win in Cornish Series

Home » Road racing

Location: Redruth, Cornwall
Event: 31 March 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

RACING for the first time since breaking his collarbone last summer, Peter Haworth lead a clean sweep of the top three places for Primal Europe powered by in the opening round of the Cornish Series at RAF Portreath.

After a week of sunshine, the skies were overcast for the Penzance Wheelers promotion with a biting north easterly wind cutting across the exposed 1.3-mile airfield circuit.

Exeter-based Haworth, 30, broke away in the closing stages with team-mate James Williams, winner of the second round in last year’s corresponding series, and came out on top in the sprint with Adam Bright leading in a chasing group of six riders to complete a a good day for the squad from Primal Europe powered by

The supporting race for third and fourth categories was won by 17-year-old Jake Alderman (One and All Cycling), 17, who broke away alone and opened up a sizeable gap over the bunch.


1 Peter Haworth (Primal Europe powered by
2 James Williams (Primal Europe powered by
3 Adam Bright (Primal Europe powered by
4 Mark Dolan (Mid-Devon CC)
5 James Smith (Primal Europe powered by
6 Blake Pond (North Devon Wheelers)
7 Darren Manser (One and all Cycling)
8 Mark Barlow (Newquay Velo)
9 Scott Tomkinson (Newquay Velo)
10 Matt Dowler (University of Exeter CC)

1 Jake Alderman (One and All Cycling)
2 James Porter
3 Chris Palfreyman (Exeter CC)
4 Nick Avery (Mid-Devon CC)
5 Ian Houvenaghel (One and All Cycling)
6 Theo Brumhead (University of Exeter CC)
7 John Nye (Exeter CC)
8 Jason Wheel (RUTraining-Yogi)
9 Martin Lenney (Mountain Trax RT)
10 Oliver Mytton (Oxford City RC)

4th cat:
1 Tim McEvoy (Newquay Velo)
2 Darren Stanley (Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA)
3 David Henderson (Mid-Devon CC)
4 Rory Parker (Newquay Velo)
5 Benjamin Hoy (Exeter Wheelers)
6 Richard Goulden (Penzance Wheelers)
7 Charles Gaswell (RUTraining-Yogi)
8 Tom Jeffcote (RN&RM CA)
9 Chris Glazier (YOGi Cycling)
10 Pete Ryan (Newquay Velo)

South West Youth Series:

Under 16:
1 Ricky Parsons (One and All Cycling)
2 Tom Bayliss (Mid-Devon CC)
3 Stan Thompson (One and All Cycling)

Under 14:
1 Samuel Armstrong (Taw Velo)
2 Harvey Clarke (Mid-Devon CC)
3 Jasmine Gray (Mid-Devon CC)

Under 12:
1 Toby Peters (One and All Cycling)
2 Oliver Brunnock (One and All Cycling)
3 Ruben Ward (One and All Cycling)

Under 10:
1 Meredith Smith (Primal Europe powered by

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.