Road: Osborn wins Beyond Spring Crits

Home » Road racing

Location: Hillingdon circuit, London
Event: 25 March 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

AN overnight journey from the Channel Islands did little to blunt the finishing speed of Matt Osborn (Guernsey VC-Edmond De Rothschild) as he sprinted to victory in the feature race of the Beyond Spring Criteriums at Hillingdon.

The 22-year-old was in a group of five riders who broke clear at around two-thirds distance on the West London circuit and stayed away to the finish where the chasing pack were 12 seconds down.

“We got away with 18 laps to go and were working pretty well together,” said Osborn, who forced former winner Clive Nicholls (High Wycombe CC) to settle for second place this time.

It was a good day for the Guernsey club with James Roe winning the supporting fourth-category race.

“We got an overnight boat to Portsmouth and then the drive up took about an hour and a half,” said Osborn. “We try to get over once a month to race – our sponsors supplement the boat fare and our hotel which is a tremendous help.”


1 Matt Osborn (Guernsey VC-Edmond De Rothschild) 1-35-06
2 Clive Nicholls (High Wycombe CC)
3 Werner Van Der Merwe (
4 Conall Yates (In-Gear Quickvit RT)
5 Darren Parker (Python RT) all same time
6 Billy Whenman (PM Racing) at 12 sec
7 Stephen Bradbury (AW Cycles)
8 Philip Touzeau (Guernsey VC-Edmond De Rothschild)
9 Robin Thatcher (Sydenham Wheelers)
10 Harold Evans (VO2 Development Team) all same time

4th cat:
1 James Roe (Guernsey VC-Edmond De Rothschild)
2 Jonathon Rogers (Welwyn Wheelers)
3 Tim Clark (BC PM)
4 Justin Costley (CC Hackney)
5 Ryan Witchell (Welwyn Wheelers)
6 Gordon Pool (Chelmer CC)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.