Road: Bamford wins Tameside Season Starter

Home » Road racing

Location: Ashton-under-Lyne
Event: 18 March 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports | Video: Simon Winston

DIRTWHEELS Cycles pair Rachel Bamford and Brit Tate continued their domination of women’s circuit racing in the North West by following up their result at Salt Ayre the day before with a one-two at Tameside.

Not leaving it to chance in a bunch sprint, Bamford attacked early on and quickly established a 10-second lead over the field before Tate also jumped clear and crossed alone to her team-mate.

There seemed to be little co-ordination in the chase and the leaders extended their advantage to around half a lap by the finish, Bamford opening up a small lead over Tate out of the hairpin and continuing to pull away to record an impressive solo victory.

The bunch sprint for third place went to Melissa Bury (Champion Systems/Maxgear) sprint.

The pace was high from the start of the fourth-category men’s race with Luke Dabbs (University of Manchester) among the most active, but as the bunch grew smaller, riders began to think more about the tactical side of their race and although several riders tried to break clear, none of the moves stuck.

Inside the final lap Philip Turton (Yorkshire RC), Dabbs and Robert Lockhart (Cyclesport International RT) managed to break clear as the other riders began to watch each other in preparation for a sprint, and they held out to the line where Lockhart took the win from Turton with the pack coming in a couple of seconds later.



1 Racheal Bamford Dirtwheels Cycles 48:34:00

2 Brit Tate Dirtwheels Cycles @ 5sec

3 Melissa Bury Champion Systems/Maxgear @ 22sec

4 Vicky Annis VC Bradford

5 Rachel Armitage London Dynamo

6 Alice Miller Look Mum No Hands

7 Frances White Champion Systems/Maxgear

8 Liz Waterhouse University of Manchester

9 Nikola Butler Vivelo-Bikes/Inverse Cyclaim RT

10 Hayley Edwards Champion Systems/Maxgear

11 Nicky Shaw Dinnington RC

12 Eve Dixon Champion Systems/Maxgear

13 Lisa Daly Sportscity Velo

14 Rebecca Heath VC St Raphael

15 Catherine Wiggins Liverpool Mercury (Dolan) CC

16 Phoebe Snedden Mulebar Girl

17 Vanessa Whitfield Saddleworth Clarion

18 Claire Rutherford Vivelo-Bikes/Inverse Cyclaim RT at 1 lap

19 Victoria Hood Team Swift at 3 laps

20 Jenny Brown Rochdale Triathlon Club

21 Clara Sandelind University of Sheffield at 4 laps

22 Danielle Ramsey Private Member

4th Cat Men:

1 Robert Lockhart Cyclesport International RT 51:56:00

2 Philip Turton Yorkshire RC

3 Luke Dabbs University of Manchester CC

4 Keiren Murphy Army Cycling Union

5 Andrew Webster High Peak Cycles RT

6 David Morris Harrogate Nova CC

7 Colin Hodgson St Helens CRC/D. Sparrow Plumbing

8 Jonathon Caldwell Private Member

9 Roberto Conte Private Member

10 Jonathan Woodhouse Wakefield CC

11 Joe Bennett Warrington RC

12 David Beachill Huddersfield RC

13 Daniel Chaffer Chorlton Velo

14 Neil O'Brien Manchester Triathlon Club

15 Richard Crabtree Pedalsport Cycling Club

16 Philip Garton-Pope Liverpool Century CC

17 Andrew McLeod Lancashire RC

18 Andrew Adshead Manchester Wheelers Club at 1 lap

19 Jerome Jacob University of Sheffield CC at 2 laps

20 Anthony Eaton Manchester Wheelers Club

21 Mark Brewer Private Member

22 Joe Hinchcliffe BBM Revolution Cycling Club

23 Basil Adamo Sheffrec CC

24 Anthony Weston Liverpool Century CC at 3 laps

25 Paul Gordon Private Member at 6 laps

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.