Road: Williams wins opening CDNW League race

Road: Williams wins opening CDNW League race

Home » Road racing

Location: Pimbo, Lancashire
Event: 4 March 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

RULED out of the running by a puncture at the Eddie Soens Memorial race the day before, Pete Williams (Node4 Giordana Racing) made full amends with victory over a strong field in the opening round of the Cycling Development North West League on the Pimbo circuit at Skelmersdale.

Williams jumped away from his last two remaining rivals halfway round the final lap of the two-mile circuit and held on to win from resurgent Tom Barras (Metaltek Scott) and Richard Handley (Rapha Condor Sharp).

The leading trio came from an eight-strong group which went clear with around five laps to go in a race which saw attacks from the off despite the wet and cold conditions.

As the leaders came down to three, Handley was first to try his hand but Williams chased him down and went straight over the top with the strength to stay away over the final mile.

“It’s a fast circuit and things were going all day,” said 25-year-old Williams, from Skipton in North Yorkshire. “I was away in a move with two others for quite a while, but on this circuit it is always difficult to stay away.

“When it came down to the three of us I took my chance, and it worked out well. I’ve not got too much racing to be honest until the bigger races start in April and I’m just trying to hold back a bit until then.”

Ninth the day before, Barras was delighted with second place as he recovers from an operation to his left leg.

“Two weeks ago I couldn’t keep up with the training group, so I’m pleased with that – it was a bit of a surprise,” said the Sleeton, Leeds-based 33-year-old.

“I had quite a serious operation in December and I’ve only been on my bike for five weeks. I’m very pleased to be cycling at all.

“I’m over the moon with the two results, and it’s great to be on the podium today, especially with a new team. We have a very good line-up, we had a great training camp in Murcia and we are lucky to have gathered some new sponsors who are new to cycling.

“The operation has sorted out a problem that I’ve had for eight to ten years, and the doctors have said that hopefully it should lengthen my career by five years,

“In another month I should be back to where I want to be and everything is going in the right direction.”



1 Pete Williams NODE4 Giordana Racing

2 Tom Barras Metaltek-Scott

3 Richard Handley Rapha Condor Sharp

4 Alistair Rutherford

5 James Sampson NODE4 Giordana Racing

6 Jamie Caldwell Cycle Premier Racing Team

7 Craig Battersby Team Bglobal

8 Luke Ryan Team Toachim

9 Felix English Rapha Condor Sharp

10 Matt Cronshaw NODE4 Giordana Racing

11 Dillon Byrne

12 David McGowan Team UK Youth

13 Matt Holmes Team Raleigh

14 Chris Latham Maxgear RT

15 Jamie Burgan langsett cycles RT

16 Matthew Pilkington Team BGlobal

17 Milan Sihelsky kuota spinergy gsg

18 Tony Greenhalgh wheelbase

19 Sam Boast Team Hope Factory Racing

20 Jacob Ragan Maxgear

21 Conan Mayman Team bglobal

22 Jack Pullar Wheelbase

23 Hamish Graham ASFRA racing team

24 Stuart Percival GB Fire Service

25 Steve Abbott Teamwallis CHH cycling team

26 Chris Sherriffs Team Bglobal

27 Alastair Hepworth Batley CC/Hargreaves Cycles

28 Ash Finn vanilla bikes RT

29 Tom Black Cycle Premier Racing Team

30 Jonathan Cregeen Biketreks RT

31 Simon Wilson Metaltek Scott

32 Francis Pilkington Bill Nickson RT

33 Lee Brotzman Wills Wheels

34 Ben Dean Team Bglobal

35 Stuart McCluskey leslie bike shop/ right move windows

36 Michael Fuccacia Liverpool Century

37 Nathan Harrison Buxton CC

38 Mike Cuming Rapha Condor / Sharp

39 Michael Knight Hope Factory Racing

40 Andrew Stott Liverpool Mercury

41 Harry Grey

42 Andy Coupe herbalife leisurelakesbikes

43 Michael Ashurst Maxgear RT

44 Scott McCrossan Rock to Roll Cycles Ltd

45 Matthew Robinson All Terrain Cycles RT

46 Dan Whelan Onimpex Bioracer RT

47 Daniel Drake Lancashire RC

48 Grahame Sumner

49 Hugh Carthy Maxgear / Kyklos / Champion System

50 Oliver Rossi Rapha Condor Sharp

51 James Gullen Metaltek-SCOTT

52 Jimmy Froggatt Wills Wheels CC

53 Michael Rawson Maxgear RT

54 Ben Greenwood

55 Stephen Leigh Teab Bglobal

56 John Rigby Max Gear RT

57 Luke Grivell-Mellor Rapha Condor Sharp

58 Matt Limacher Champion Systems

59 Samuel Jackson Vanilla Bikes R.T.

60 James Dunlop Biketreks RT

61 Jack Cutsforth Team Herbal Life-Leisure Lakes

62 Marcel Six Metaltek-Scott Racing Team

63 Chris Lawless Maxgear RT

64 Tony Gibb Metaltek-Scott Racing Team

65 Jamie Shirlaw Herbalife-Leisure

66 Jon Mozley cycle premier racing team


1 Tom Dalton Bill Nickson cycles RT

2 Henry Hunter Team Wallis CHH

3 James Bell private member

4 Robert Lockhart Cyclesport International

5 Ryan Pike High on Bikes RT

6 John Guy High on Bikes RT

7 Stephen Smith Vita Cycle Team

8 Dennis Lang Clayton Velo

9 Spencer Coltman Southport cc

10 Christian Ellis Wheelguru

11 Darran Acton LRC

12 Chris Quin Macclesfield Wheelers

13 James Chamberlain Cyclesport International

14 Jeff Marshall Vita Cycles Team

15 John Clegg Ribble Valley CRC

16 Michael Lund GB Fire Service

17 Andrew Wright private member

18 Lee Stenton Dirtwheels

19 David Kent St Helens CRC

20 Rick Flynn GMP Racing

21 Sam Mansfield Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles

22 Ben Crawshaw Lune RCC

23 Sam Dobson Lune RCC

24 Doug Arnold Liverpool Century Road Club

25 Anthony Allan Macclesfield Wheelers

26 Col Hodgson St Helens CRC

27 Jordan Rigby Team Wallis CHH Racing Team

28 Steve Simpson U/A

29 Ross James Vita Cycle Team

30 Luke Dearden Chorley Cycling Club

31 Martin Wallis Team Wallis CHH Racing Team

32 Mick Style Manchester Wheelers

33 Duncan Smith Cleveleys RC

34 Tony Weston Liverpool Century

35 Ruairi Revell Dirtwheels Cycles

36 Gareth Collom G M C Fire Services

37 Dylan Yates High on Bikes RT

38 Luke Dabbs University of Manchester

39 Catherine Wiggins Liverpool Mercury

40 Sean Fairhurst Vita Cycle Team

41 John Tate Dirtwheels

42 Lee Carter Ribble Valley CRC

43 Chris Southworth Leigh Premier RC

44 Ashley Clitheroe

45 Adam Pickthall Lakes Road Club

46 Neil Hendry Dirtwheels Cycles

47 Louise Murray Science in Sport

48 Philip Knupfer Manchester Wheelers

49 Richard Line Stourbridge Velo

50 Joshua Townson Southport CC

51 Alex Fairhurst Vita Cycle Team

52 Chris Danby Preston CC

53 Ian Boydon Lune RCC

54 Peter Ware St Helens CRC

55 Andy Newby Weaver Valley CC

56 Adam Mitchell Bill Nickson Cycles RT

57 James Warren Bill Nickson Cycles RT

58 Peter Lloyd H Middleton Cycling Club

59 John Findley Bill Nickson Cycles RT

60 Darren Reynolds Stockport Clarion RC

61 Anthony Breen Vita Cycle Team

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.