Road: Arnstein wins Gifford Road Race

Home » Road racing

Location: East Lothian, Scotland
Event: 3 March 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

PROMISING first-year junior Tom Arnstein enjoyed the perfect start to his season with victory in the 65-mile Gifford Road Race in Scotland.

The 17-year-old, competing in his first open road race since leaving the youth ranks and riding for Equipe Velo Ecosse-Montpelliers, outsprinted fellow second category Arthur Doyle ( after eight lively laps of an undulating East Lothian circuit with elite rider Andrew Hawdon (Herbalife-Leisure Lakes nine seconds back in third place.

The winning break came from a front group of a dozen riders which formed in two waves over the opening two laps and built a lead of around four minutes over the pack.

The leaders were whittled down to six before Doyle attacked on the last lap with around two miles to go, chased by Robin Wilkins (Equipe Velo Ecosse) and Hawdon who were then caught by Arnstein, who went straight through and worked his way up to Doyle’s wheel.

What they said

“I was on a good day yesterday,” said Arnstein, who claimed the win was a “huge surprise.

“I wasn’t expecting that in the slightest. I’d rested a bit coming up to it, my legs felt good and I felt quite comfortable all the way round.

“I’m racing a few of the National Junior Series rounds and I’m off to the Basque Country in Spain for a month in July, so I have a nice busy season planned out.

“The Glasgow Commonwealth Games are an ambitious ambition for me, but realistic I think.”


1 Tom Arnstein Equipe Velo Ecosse/Montpeliers 2nd 02:41:18

2 Arthur Doyle 2nd st

3 Andrew Hawdon Herbalife-Leisure Lakes Elite 9

4 David Lines Endura/Forme/Pedal Power 1st st

5 Peter Murdoch Team Cycle Lane 1st 12

6 Robin Wilkins Equipe Velo Ecosse/Montpeliers 1st 14

7 Tom Last Team IG - Sigma Sport 1st 01:27

8 Robbie Hassan Herbalife-Leisure Lakes Elite st

9 Gary Hand Endura/Forme/Pedal Power Elite st

10 Andrew Coupe Herbalife-Leisure Lakes Elite 01:28

11 Michael Nicolson Unattached 1st st

12 Alan Thomson Sandy Wallace Cycles 2nd 01:32

13 Craig Wallace Granite City RT 3rd 03:19

14 Graham McGarrity 2nd 03:25

15 Tim Blathwayt Velo Club Edinburgh 2nd 03:32

16 Jack Barrett Velocity 44 Stirling 2nd 03:54

17 Richard Meadows Velo29-OTR-Vankru Elite 03:56

18 Stephen Russell Team Cycle Lane 2nd 03:58

19 Kieran Brady City Cycle 2nd 04:02

20 Edward Addis Equipe Velo Ecosse/Montpeliers 1st st

21 Tommy Murray Glasgow Wheelers 2nd st

22 Martin Lonie 2nd st

23 Simon Baxter Herbalife-Leisure Lakes 1st st

24 Paul Rennie 2nd st

25 Brian Duncan Granite City RT 3rd st

26 Richard McDonald 2nd st

27 Finlay Young Equipe Velo Ecosse/Montpeliers 2nd st

28 Craig Adams GJS Racing Team 2nd st

29 Veli-Matti Raikkonen Granite City RT 2nd sto Name Team Cat Time

30 Ewan McDougall Elgin CC 3rd st

31 dale McCallum 2nd st

32 Ross Green Stewartry Wheelers 3rd st

33 Richard Garrett Velo Club Edinburgh 3rd st

34 Cameron Balfour CNP - Orbea 3rd st

35 Gavin Shirley 2nd st

36 Jamie Kennedy Glasgow Couriers 1st st

37 Gary McCrae Team Leslie Bike Shop - Right Move Windows 2nd st

38 Andrew Matheson Musselburgh RCC 3rd st

39 Neil Taylor Edinburgh RC 2nd st

40 Geoffrey Martin Glasgow Wheelers 3rd st

41 Stuart McCluskey Team Leslie Bike Shop - Right Move Windows 2nd st

42 John McCaffery Team Leslie Bike Shop - Right Move Windows 3rd st

43 Greg Brown 2nd st

44 Andrew Cox 2nd st

45 Keith Laird Glasgow Couriers 3rd st

46 Allan Clark Team Leslie Bike Shop - Right Move Windows 3rd st

47 Joe Larner Edinburgh RC 3rd st

48 Jordan Stokes Endura/Forme/Pedal Power 2nd st

49 Lindsay Gordon 3rd st

50 David Griffiths Glasgow Wheelers 2nd st

51 Ross Crook Edinburgh RC 2nd st

52 Matthew MacDonald Equipe Velo Ecosse/Montpeliers 2nd st

53 Gavin Shuttleworth Velocity 44 Stirling 3rd st

54 Peter Ward Velo Club Edinburgh 3rd st

55 Alister Watt Granite City RT 2nd st

56 Hamish McLean Labrat CC 3rd 04:15

57 Callum Wilkinson 1st 04:18

58 Rich Semple 2nd 04:20

59 Karl Denton 2nd 04:26

60 Peter Hale GJS Racing Team 3rd st

61 Franco Porco GJS Racing Team 3rd 05:36

62 Ricky Sutherland Pro Am Race Club 3rd st

63 Gordon Murdoch Team Cycle Lane 1st 05:37

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.