Road: Pine wins final Imperial Series race

Road: Pine wins final Imperial Series race

Home » Road racing

Location: Hillingdon Circuit, London
Event: 11 February 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Notching up his eighth win of the 12-race series, Jamie Pine (London Dynamo) capped an impressive victory in the Imperial Winter Series when he was first over the line in the 12th and final race at the Hillingdon circuit in London on Saturday.

The 34-year-old Twickenham-based rider secured the overall victory in the penultimate round the previous week, but he rode the final race even though he didn’t have to and capped a great series win with another victory.

He received his prize for the overall series from top British pro Roger Hammond, and was applauded for his domination of the series which has seen him amass 1990 points – almost 600 more than runner-up Steve Golla (High Wycombe CC).

Pine was riding the final round in part as preparation for the Perfs Pedal Race on Sunday, where he will mix it with many of the top names in the domestic peloton.

Pine held off La Fuga-Sigma Sport’s Rudie Marais to take the win in round 12, while Tom Smith (Felt Colbornes) was third.

In the supporting third cat race, victory in the final round went to Nick Noble (unattached), although because he is not eligible for the series the maximum 200 points went to Ben Sumner (Beeline Bikes).

However, overall victory went to Peter Hudson (Durham University CC). He was level on 990 points with Angelo Christides (unattached), but with two race wins to his name Hudson receives the third cat overall series victory.

Finally, Catford CC’s Chris King won the fourth cat race from Richard Bradfield (Dulwich Paragon CC).


E123 race:

1st Jamie Pine London Dynamo 200

2nd Rudie Marais La Fuga/Sigma Sport 150

3rd Tom Smith Felt Colbornes RT 130

4th Vincent Halpern Handsling Racing 120

5th Conall Yates InGear Quickvit RT 110

6th Matthew Tibbutt Wightlink 100

E123 Cat series overall and final standing after 12 races

1st Jamie Pine London Dynamo 1990

2nd Steve Golla High Wycombe 1400

3rd Rory Townsend Prestige VC 1190

4th Pete Wager Felt-Colbornes RT 950

5th Conall Yates InGear Quickvit RT 880

7th Vincent Halpern Handsling Racing 700

6th Andy Betts Felt Colbornes RT 690

8th Tom Smith Felt Colbornes 690

9th Chris Moores Norwood Paragon 520

10th Jerone Walters VC St Raphael 480

3rd cat race

1st Nick Noble unattached nil

2nd Ben Sumner Beeline Bikes 200

3rd Ashley Dennis Prestige Velo Club 150

4th Leigh-Roy Macfarlane Cycleworks 130

5th Jacek Reder unattached 120

6th Tim Benham WyndyMilla 110

3rd Cat series overall and final standing after 12 races

1st Peter Hudson Durham Uni - AURA Cycles 990 with 2 wins

2nd Angelo Christides unattached 990

3rd Tim Benham WyndyMilla 920

4th Dominic Clegg Redhill CC 830

5th Jacek Reder unattached 740

6th Werner van der Merwe 640

7th Daniel Stevens 530

8th Mark Northover The Cycle Studio 500

9th Ashley Dennis Prestige VC 470

10th Rob Sharland Kingston Wheelers 420

4th Cat race

1st Chris King Catford CC

2nd Richard Bradfield Dulwich Paragon CC

3rd Graeme York Twickenham CC

4th Jordan O'Neill London Dynamo

5th James Roberts Amersham

6th George Kirkin Twickenham CC

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.