Tim Guy eases to Norwich Circuit Races success

Tim Guy eases to Norwich Circuit Races success

Home » Road racing

Location: County Hall, Norwich
Event: 9 October 2011
Report: Sara Flatt

Gt Yarmouth CC once again dominated the youth racing, showcasing the talent that they are nurturing in the far east of the region.

Despite a very wet start to the day a good field of under 16s turned up and set about tacking their six race omnium. There were strong performances in the final handicap race from Sophie Wright, who lead throughout before being narrowly beaten to the line by Christopher Haslam but overall the top three in Group A were Patrick Manning, Ben Turner and Dan Swindells, all GYCC. Group B was dominated by GYCC again, Elle Turner taking first place from younger sister Hannah, Lois Houlgate was third.

The Go Race omnium was close battle between Ed Slater of Strada Sport and Peter Bussey (unattached), who dominated the five races on the short circuit and as a result, earned themselves a considerable handicap in the final race. The final ten lap handicap race, held on the longer circuit which includes a short sharp hill saw both these riders unable to make any impression on the rest of the field. Winner of the handicap was Peter Cornwell (Norwich ABC) but Ed Slater had done enough to take the overall win with Peter Bussey in second. Third place was decided by the final race with Adam Houlgate (GYCC) finishing ahead of Kevin House (GYCC).

Winner of the 3rd/4th category criterium, Tim Guy (Iceni Velo), put the frustrations of Saturday's cyclo-cross crash behind him and soloed to a comfortable victory. Guy went away after the first few laps and his gap was steady at around 15-20 seconds for most of the race. Teammate Cameron Toms, whose Eastern League cyclo-cross race had been more successful and who had taken second in a local hill climb in the morning, tried to bridge the gap and successfully got away from the group but couldn't maintain the effort and dropped back, eventually retiring. In the main field, Mark Farrow (Strada Sport) was doing most of the work and was rewarded with a comfortable second after Graham Collins (Ipswich BC) crashed on the penultimate lap. Apologies are due to Lewis Pendle (I Team Cyclists Club) who took second place at round 4 but who didn't receive the recognition he deserved in the report for that race.


1. Tim Guy (Iceni Velo)
2. Mark Farrow (Strada Sport)
3. Philp Tomerson (VC Norwich)
4. Graham Collins (Ipswich BC)
5. James Brown (VC Norwich)
6. Lewis Pendle (I Team)
7. Wayne Barber (Strada Sport)