Road Worlds Day 2 - Junior Men's TT

Road Worlds Day 2 - Junior Men's TT

Home » Road racing

2011 UCI Road World Championships
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Event: 19-25 September 2011


The second day of competition at the World Road Championships in Denmark opened with the Junior Men's Time Trial, which was won by Dane Mads Wurtz-Schmidt, giving the crowd something to cheer. The GB Cycling Team's first year junior Jon Dibben finished 8th.

On a cool, overcast day, the early leader was James Oram of New Zealand, who was 10th off of a field of 55 riders. He completed the 27.8km course in 35 minutes 11.79 seconds, which was over half a minute clear of the best previous time. It was soon clear that Oram's time would take some beating as 30 riders failed to crack it.

However, the home crowd came alive when Denmark's Mads Wurtz-Schmidt went through every time check quickest by some four seconds. He maintained that gap through the second and third time checks, faded a second towards the finish, but held on to claim the lead with 35:07.68.

Australia's David Edwards was the only one of the remaining 10 riders who looked like threatening the lead. He went through the first check just 6 seconds down and had reduced that to 4 seconds at the mid-way point. However, he couldn't maintain that pace and eventually finished third, 20 seconds down, which left James Oram to claim the silver medal behind Mads Wurtz-Schmidt.

Jonathan Dibben on his way to an excellent 8th place (John Giles/PA Wire/Press Association Images)

The GB Team fielded two riders, with Owain Doull first off. He began very quickly and was the second fastest rider at the first time check, but faded in the second half of his ride and finished  30th in a time of 37:06.37.

GB's second rider, Jon Dibben, going off towards the back of the field, put in a well paced ride, not beginning too quickly, but picking up pace in the second half of the course to temporarily move into 6th place with a time of 35:55.72. That time stood up well and he eventually claimed 8th, a fine ride by a rider who will still be in this category next season.


1 Mads Wurtz Schmidt (Denmark) 35m 07.68s
2 James Oram (New Zealand) 0:00:04
3 David Edwards (Australia) 0:00:21
4 Markus Faglum-Karlsson (Sweden) 0:00:33
5 Juriy Vasyliv (Germany) 0:00:39
6 Casper Von Folsach (Denmark) 0:00:40
7 Kristopher Jorgenson (USA) 0:00:47
8 Jon Dibben (GB) 0:00:48
9 Pierre-Henri Lecuisinier (France) 0:00:49
10 Sondre H Enger (Norway) 0:00:50
30 Owain Doull (GB) 1:58.69