Commonwealth Youth Games: TT

Commonwealth Youth Games: TT

Home » Road racing

England's Hannah Barnes took a comfortable victory in the women's time-trial - the opening cycling event of the 2011 Commonwealth Youth Games on the Isle of Man on Friday.

The Motorpoint rider finished the 7.2km test along Douglas seafront in 10mins 13secs to take the gold ahead of Australia's Jess Allen (10mins 30secs) and Welsh rider Ellnor Barker (10mins 34secs).

After the race Barnes, the current British Junior Road Race Champion, said it was the biggest win of her career so far and added: "I've never competed against the Australians before so I was a little nervous but this victory has improved my confidence ahead of the Worlds in two weeks time."

England's Hannah Barnes (centre) celebrates winning gold. Pictured left is Australia's Jess Allen, while Wales' Ellnor Barker is on the right.

England took the team gold with Barnes, Lucy Garner and Harriet Owen. Silver went to Wales (Ellnor Barker and Amy Roberts) and bronze to Australia (Jess Allen, Jess Mundy, Allison Rice and Emily Roper).

In the men's race - also over the same 7.2km course - Australia's Alex Morgan took gold in 9mins exactly and 11 seconds ahead of his compatriot Jack Beckinsale. Bronze went to England's Jon Dibben who clocked 9mins 17secs - the same time as Welshman Owain Doull in fourth place who lost out on a medal by a fraction of a second.

Gold medallist Morgan was part of the Australian quartet who won gold and set an under-19 world record in the team pursuit at this year's World Junior Track Championsips. Morgan and his team mates were dubbed ‘The Baby Cyclones' by the Australian press and the trip to the Worlds in Russia was Morgan's first overseas race prior to winning here in the Isle of Man.

Australia won the team event with Morgan, Jack Beckinsale, Caleb Ewan and Robert McCarthy. England won silver (Dibben, Matthew Holmes and Sam Lowe) and Canada bronze (Elliott Doyle, Simon-Pierre Gauthier, Charles Matte and David Onsow).

The time-trials attracted a good crowd, and among the spectators was Manxman and Sky pro team rider Peter Kennaugh who was taking a short break before heading off to race in the Tour of Britain.

Men's individual time trial podium: From left, Australia's Jack Beckinsale and Alex Morgan, with England's bronze-medal winning Jon Dibben.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.