Road: Lowthorpe Wins at Darley Moor

Home » Road racing
Bookmark    and Share
Follow on

Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr

Lowthorpe Wins at Darley Moor

Darley Moor, Ashbourne, Derbyshire, 36 miles
Event: 17th July 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

SHEFFIELD rider Danny Lowthorpe took victory in the latest of a series of circuit races at the Darley Moor track near Ashbourne in Derbyshire on Sunday.

The Rutland CC rider, 36, was part of a two-man break which dominated the race in the later stages along with 15-year-old Aire Valley RT rider Oli Wood, who took second spot.

The pair were part of a seven-rider break which attacked early in the 24-lap race, taking advantage of a small field to go clear early and lap the majority of the riders.

With around 18 of the laps covered Lowthorpe and Wood - who had been active in the break throughout - attacked again and powered on strongly, eventually crossing the line around a minute and a half clear, with Lowthorpe edging Wood in the sprint by about ten yards.

Wood's team-mate at Aire Valley RT, fellow junior Jake Womersley, led in the remains of the break for third spot.

1 Danny Lowthorpe (Rutland CC) 1-25-00
2 Oli Wood (Aire Valley RT) @ same time
3 Jake Womersley (Aire Valley RT) @ 1-30
4 Stuart Mirfin (Ashfield RC)
5 David Saunders (Climb On Bikes)
6 Barry Charley (Wolverhampton Wheelers)
7 Stuart Clayton (Born 2 Bike) all @ same time
8 Robert Lambton (Brooks Cycles) @ 2-00
9 Rob Adlard (unattached)
10 Jess Wieckowski (Nemesis GB)