Rain Fails to Dampen League Spirit

Home » Road racing
Bookmark    and Share
Follow britishcycling.org.uk on

Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr

Rain Fails to Dampen Youth League Spirit

Royal London 360 Youth League - Round 10
Event: 14th June 2011
Promoted by: Team Royal London 360
Venue: National Sports Centre, Douglas, Isle of Man
Report: Dot Tilbury, Team Royal London 360

Outbreaks of heavy rain failed to dampen the enthusiasm of the 249 competitors who turned out at the National Sports Centre last Tuesday night for round 10 of Team Royal London 360 Isle of Man's youth league. A prolonged downpour just before the racing got underway resulted in the cancellation of the three racing bike events on safety grounds

Making light of the difficult conditions, Peter Lloyd notched up his seventh success in the novices class. Archie Dunn took the runners-up spot ahead of Jemma Quayle, who pipped Rebecca Walmsley for the final place on the rostrum. Newcomer Alexander Galloway produced one of the rides of the night to edge out previous winner Chester Bell for fifth place. Matthew Gledhill was a good seventh and Sophie Keen led a group of six girls home for eighth place. Lisa Martin and Kate Morris rounded off the top ten.

In the born 2006 & later category Corey Peters got the better of overall leader Zachary Dowson for the second week running. Jack Keenan splashed his way round to third and Cian Jackson beat Ivan Sorby and Peter Cope to the line for fourth. Drystan Sewell, William Curphey and Alfie Swales filled the next three places, with the ever improving Kazu Senior a good tenth. Lucy Barnett took the girls' prize in 21st position.

Harry Kneen attacked Niall Colquitt and Chloe Dillon on the final lap of the born 2005 race and powered his way to victory. Mairi Harrison rode Bradley Kneen off her wheel to grab fourth and Luca Moretta outsprinted Frank Kinnish, Liam Smith, Nathan Cannell and Jacob O'Boyle for sixth.

The born 2004 riders were hit with the worst of the weather. Zac Walker and Dillon Dowson went from the gun and stayed clear to the finish where Walker just got the verdict in the final dash for the line. Ralf Holden edged out twins Joshua and Cameron Dudley in the bunch sprint for third, while Mia Worthington grabbed the girls' award in 13th spot.

Arch rivals Percy Hampton and Jake Wilson also had a close tussle in the born 2003 event, with Hampton eventually taking the honours by the narrowest of margins. Thomas Skillicorn held off Matthew Black, Jack Christian, Jonty Bregazzi and Tyler Hannay in the gallop for third and Jamie Gelling outgunned top girl Darcy Cain in the battle for eighth. Emily Kinley and Megan Cannell completed the girls' podium in 17th and 19th positions respectively.

Glen Vine's Will Corkill made his intentions clear from the start of the born 2002 class, riding away from the field and time trialing to a comfortable solo victory. Corrin Leeming led Nathanael Tyson and Jack Whitelegg in to grab second and first girl Shellan Leeming pipped Charlie Moss and Fin Samson for fifth.

Tosh Teare came from behind to pip Max Walker in the born 2001 age group. Juan Kneen and Adam Scarffe overtook Emma Draper in the closing stages to snatch third and fourth, with Chloe Crellin a safe sixth ahead of chasers Rory Donegan, Sean Young and Charlie Moore.

In the born 2000 & earlier race, the final event in a shortened programme, Matthew Draper got an early gap and was never seriously challenged. Adam Kelly outsprinted Lucas Mudie, Kaitlin Slack, Ben Christian, Sam Batey and Joseph Corkish for second place.


1. Peter Lloyd
2. Archie Dunn
3. Jemma Quayle - 1st girl
4. Rebecca Walmsley
5. Alexander Galloway
6. Cheater Bell
7. Matthew Gledhill
8. Sophie Keen
9. Lisa Martin
10. Kate Morris
11. Rubi Skillen
12. Belinda Dennett
13. Rebecca Cooil
14. Joseph Corlett
15. T.J.Teare
16. Eddy Dillon
17. Maria Moore
18. Myles Le Geyt
19. Niamh Smith
20. Lewis Quirk
21. Ellie Caine
22. Lewin Scarffe
23. Gabriel Murphy
24. Alec Sorby
25. Dylan Tattersall
26. Freddie Griffin
27. Izzy Craig
28. Joseph Devereau
29. McKenzie Howard
30. Sinead Moore
31. Lula Thomas
32. Zack Bellhouse
33. George Kinnish
34. Lewis Caine
35. Ollie Eyres
36. Owen Pilley
37. Lois Kneen
38. Dominic Andrea
39. Freddie Quilliam
40. Mollie Dennett
41. Jessica Rich
42. Kelly Domingo
43. Harley Ridgway
44. Mikey Cosgrove
45. Megan Callin
46. Jack Smith
47. Chloe Tyson
48. Max Robbins
49. Robert Tomlinson

Born 2006 and later
1. Corey Peters
2. Zachary Dowson
3. Jack Keenan
4. Cian Jackson
5. Ivan Sorby
6. Peter Cope
7. Drystan Sewell
8. William Curphey
9. Alfie Swales
10. Kazu Senior
11. Harry Callin
12. Ryan Edwards
13. Charlie Convery
14. Jak Clague
15. Edward Marsh
16. Jack Robbins
17. Harry Fox
18. Shannon Moore
19. Fletcher Kneen
20. Corbin Stewart
21. Lucy Barnett - 1st girl
22. Jacob Lawrence
23. Evie Powell
24. Callum Clague
25. Alex Andrew
26. Harry Eyres
27. Ralph Scott
28. Grace Kelly
29. Charlie Scarffe
30. Sophie Smith
31. Hayden Freestone
32. Jack Mylchreest
33. Ethan Bratty
34. Kai Kiernan
35. Callum Larkin
36. Ruby McCubbin
37. Samuel Devereau
38. Tadgh Hall
39. Darcy O'Connor

Born 2005
1. Harry Kneen
2. Niall Colquitt
3. Chloe Dillon - 1st girl
4. Mairi Harrison
5. Bradley Kneen
6. Luca Moretta
7. Frank Kinnish
8. Liam Smith
9. Nathan Cannell
10. Jacob O'Boyle
11. James Scott
12. Oliver Corkish
13. Oliver Tobin
14. Robert Docherty
15. Aaron Christian
16. Callum Salisbury
17. Joey Magee
18. Tyler Annis
19. Teddy Dunn
20. Cormac Ewan
21. Jacob McCanney
22. Harry Boyle
23. Albert Kessler
24. Chloe Comaish
25. Daniel Friel
26. Daniel Martin
27. Matthew Young
28. Eimear Boyle
29. Nathan Kennaugh
30. Ethan Daugherty
31. Niall McCanney
32. Tommy Ralston
33. Ella Griffin
34. Lily Griffiths
35. Ealish Cook
36. Emma Stratford
37. Tyler Whyment
38. Luka Warren
39. Joseph Quinn
40. Juan Domingo
41. Cerys Mudie

Born 2004
1. Zac Walker
2. Dillon Dowson
3. Ralf Holden
4. Joshua Dudley
5. Cameron Dudley
6. Adam Price
7. Nathan Slack
8. Billy Kennedy
9. Daniel Keen
10. Oliver Harrison
11. Cameron Hawes
12. Callum Crellin
13. Mia Worthington - 1st girl
14. Ross Quayle
15. William Parkes
16. Lucy Corlett
17. James Mitchell
18. Jacob Andrea
19. Joshua Kelly
20. Toby Craig
21. James Devereau
22. Kiera Prentice
23. Sam Barnett
24. Andrew Tobin
25. Blae Richardson
26. Charlie Swales
27. Nancy Wheeler
28. Carrick Samson
29. Ryan Blair
30. Marcella Dillon
31. Amy Quayle
32. Mia Warren
33. Milo Murphy
34. Joshua Clough
35. Charley Knight
36. Philip Bridson
37. William Mosley
38. Kirree Moore
39. Charlie Swales
40. Anna Price
41. Jack Sowerby
42. Rob Molesworth
43. Morgan Faragher
44. Millie Corlett

Born 2003
1. Percy Hampton
2. Jake Wilson
3. Thomas Skillicorn
4. Matthew Black
5. Jack Christian
6. Jonty Bregazzi
7. Tyler Hannay
8. Jamie Gelling
9. Darcy Cain - 1st girl
10. Ryan Quirk
11. Thomas Young
12. Matthew Cooil
13. Jack Collister
14. Jack Shimmin
15. Freddie Ralston
16. Arron Ramsey
17. Emily Kinley
18. Aaron Kirk
19. Megan Cannell
20. Josh Gilardoni
21. Lucy Gaylor
22. Sam Cunningham
23. Kieran Bratty
24. Reece Freestone
25. Alfie Quilliam

Born 2002
1. Will Corkill
2. Corrin Leeming
3. Nathanael Tyson
4. Jack Whitelegg
5. Shellan Leeming - 1st girl
6. Charlie Moss
7. Fin Samson
8. Caitlin Christian
9. Toby Young
10. Ellie Warren
11. Elizabeth Mosley

Born 2001
1. Tosh Teare
2. Max Walker
3. Juan Kneen
4. Adam Scarffe
5. Emma Draper - 1st girl
6. Chloe Crellin
7. Rory Donegan
8. Sean Young
9. Charlie Moore
10. Christopher Moore
11. Lizzie Price

Born 2000 and earlier
1. Matthew Draper
2. Adam Kelly
3. Lucas Mudie
4. Kaitlin Slack - 1st girl
5. Ben Christian
6. Sam Batey
7. Joseph Corkish
8. Ben Cunningham
9. Ruby Kennedy
10. Ciara Sowerby