Road: Newry Wins Darley Moor Race

Home » Road racing
Bookmark    and Share
Follow on

Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr

Newry Wins Darley Moor Circuit Race

Darley Moor Cycle Sport, June 19 2011
Darley Moor Circuit, Ashbourne, Derbyshire
Report: Snowdon Sports

MAXGEAR Racing Team rider James Newry proved victorious in the fourth Darley Moor Circuit Race at the Derbyshire venue on Sunday, sprinting to victory ahead of his five breakaway rivals at the end of the 36-mile event.
On an exposed circuit renowned for being hard to escape on, the windy conditions did nothing to boost expectations of a break forming.
But six well organised and determined riders broke clear on the fourth lap, and steadily powered away.
A chase group formed, but they couldn't get any closer than around a minute and a half, while the leaders were gaining on the bunch and might well have caught them if the race had continued for a couple of laps more.
In the sprint for the line, Newry held off his rivals with Mammoth Lifestyle rider William Penn taking second, while another Darley Moor regular, Stone Wheelers Richard Barnett, took third.

1 James Newry (Maxgear RT) 1:07:00
2 William Penn (Mammoth Lifestyle)
3 Richard Barnett (Stone Wheelers)
4 Simon Owens (Peak RC)
5 Declan Byrne (Brooks Cycles)
6 Jamie Morgan (Born 2 Bike) all @ same time
7 Callum Bromby (Langdale Lightweights) @ 1:30
8 Ian Cook (Planet RT)
9 Stuart Clayton (Born 2 Bike)
10 Mark Cotton (Bycka Sport Racing) all @ same time