Carter Solos to Victory at Scarborough

Home » Road racing
Bookmark    and Share
Follow on

Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr

Rob Carter Solos to Victory at Scarborough Festival

Scarborough Cycling Festival
Scarborough, North Yorkshire, 11 June 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

ROB Carter's solo victory in the elite category road race provided a spectacular end to a great couple of days of racing at the Scarborough Cycling Festival in North Yorkshire on Saturday.

Carter (Velo 29) crossed the line more than a minute ahead of his nearest rival at the end of the 40km race which was dedicated to Dave Rayner, whose wife Serena was on hand to present an engraved glass trophy to the winner.

It took a great display of power for Carter to get so far ahead of James Gullen (Team Wallis CHH), who was in turn also similarly ahead of Dan Smith (Velo 29) in third spot.

In other racing, Nathan Wilson (Wilson Wheels RT) won a 2/3/4 race which was run off on a wet course following a heavy downpour in the early stages of the criterium race, and it led to a three-rider crash which left Zepnat rider Nick Barnes needing hospital treatment for a knee injury.

But overall the day went well, with races for youth categories proving popular, as did the Go Ride Race, inter-schools events and a hill-climb.

As well as the Dave Rayner Race, the day included other dedicated races, and Adam Everingham's family came along to present the prizes for the Youth B race which was held in memory of late Richardsons CC club member Adam Everingham.

Fellow coach and friend Mark and Carol Barry came along for the weekend and were there to present the Youth A prizes and the winner's trophy in memory of their son Lewis Barry, which went to Pedalsport's Levi Moody.


1 Rob Carter (Velo 29)
2 James Gullen (Team Wallis CHH) @ 1:05
3 Dan Smith (Velo 29)
4 Chris Sherriffs (Team Bglobal)
5 Richard Meadows (Cottingham Coureurs)
6 Alex Bottomley (Fietsen Tempo)
7 Alistair Kay (Herbalife-Wheelbase)
8 William Haynes (Durham Uni Aura)
9 Chris Mark (Velo 29)
10 Andrew Miles (Durham Uni Aura)

1 Nathan Wilson (Wilson Wheels RT)
2 Duncan Moralee (Sportscover)
3 Ben Ives (We Love Mountains)
4 Nick Coupland (We Love Mountains)
5 Simon Maudsley (Crosstrax)
6 Jack Rees (Velo 29)
7 Mark Perry (Vicious Velo)
8 William Brown (Fietsen Tempo)
9 John Brown (Activ Cycles)
10 Ivan Boyes (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)

1 Peter Beverley (unattached)
2 Lee Coulson (Hull Thursday RC)
3 Iona Sewell (W) (Squadra Donne)
4 Dave Atkin (Barton Wheelers)
5 Jacques Simon (Clifton CC)
6 Steve Coates (We Love Mountains)
7 Andy Faichney (City RC, Hull)
8 Gabriella Shaw (W) (For Viored)
9 Gary Trees (Wilson Wheels)
10 David Betts (Team Swift)

Youth A (Under-16s):
1 Levi Moody (RST RT Trigon)
2 Seb Marsh (Seacroft Wheelers)
3 Leon Taylor-Woodhouse (Holme Valley Wheelers)
Girls: Alice Grieve (Stockton Wheelers)

Youth B (Under-14s):
1 Joey Walker (RST RT Trigon)
2 Chris Barnes (Seacroft Wheelers)
3 Jake Beach (Aire Valley RT)

Youth C (Under-12s):
1 Jacob Feetham (Wakefield Tri Club)
2 Toby Tanfield (Cleveland Wheelers)
3 Hannah Banks (East Bradford CC)

Youth D (Under-10s):
1 Billy Lazenby (East Bradford CC)
2 George Southby (East Bradford CC)
3 Will Faichney (City RC, Hull)

Youth E (Under-8s):
1 Patrick Kilcullen (Stockton Wheelers)
2 Nathan Fortune (Pedalsport CC)
3 Zak Fortune (Stockton Wheelers)