Castle Combe Summer Series May 27

Home » Road racing

Castle Combe Summer Series May 27

Please take time out to back our "Keep Racing on the Roads" campaign to save Road racing by becoming a fan of our dedicated facebook page

Posted June 3, 2010; by Andy Cook

Another busy evenings racing at Castle Combe with 46 youth riders and 99 seniors lining up to race on a dry but windy May evening. With the wind blowing strongly, the Senior race was keenly fought with the three groups merging much later than in the previous weeks race despite the generous handicaps. It appears that when there is a wind blowing, it generally takes longer for the groups to come together.

Marcin Bialoblocki decided to lead a charge from the front of the E/1/2’s group that caught the 3rd’s just before they caught the 4th’s with around 7 laps remaining. Marcin then proceded to time trial away from the race on his own winning by a comfortable margin. Ian Rees won the sprint for 2nd place with ease from Andy Magnier and Hugh Wilson with Wilier again placing four riders in the top 6 places.

Once again the Youth races produced some exciting racing with Peter Kibble getting back to winning ways and Etienne Georgi again taking second spot from the Tillett boys. Nicole Pollock got the better of her team mate Emily Tillett in the girls race. Matt Cross and Jack Reed attacked very early in the U16 five lap event and due to a mix up with the bell, undertook a late sprint which Matt won from Luke Cowley who came home 3rd.

Tristen Robbins also attacked in the U14 event and time trialled to victory with Ashley Hutchison and Chris Brettell working together until Chris also attacked and left Ash to take 2nd. There was drama in this event as Tristen had a mechanical with a lap to go but had sufficient time to sort out his gears and get going but at the line Chris was almost upon him. Joe Beckingsale once again got the better of Pfeiffer and Megan and the three of them finished in that order. David Meyer and Scott Curtis continue to dominate the U8 category with their usual 1st and 2nd respectively.



Under 8
1st  David Meyer  Cheltenham & Cty CC  1st Boy
2nd  Scott Curtis  Unattached   2nd Boy
3rd  Tyler Smith  Swindon RC   3rd Boy
4th  Ellis Jones  Swindon RC   4th Boy
5th  Oliver Fleet  Unattached   5th Boy
6th  Winston Powell Chippenham & Dist Whlrs 6th Boy D/L
7th  Joshua Jones  Unattached   7th Boy
Under 10
1st  Joe Beckingsale Abergavenny RC  1st Boy
2nd  Pfeiffer Georgi Mid Devon RC  1st Girl
3rd  Megan James  Abergavenny RC  2nd Girl
4th  Joshua Price  Unattached   2nd Boy
5th  Chester Powell Chippenham & Dist Whlrs 3rd Boy D/L
6th  Liam Sewell  Swindon RC   4th Boy
7th  Lance Hutchison VC St Raphael   5th Boy
8th  Ben Sluman  Cheltenham & Cty CC 6th Boy
9th  Lauren Booth  Chippenham & Dist  3rd Girl 
10th  Harry Fleet  Unattached   7th Boy
11th  Thomas Price  Unattached   8th Boy
12th  Natalie Moore  Swindon RC   4th Girl
13th  Seren Jones  Swindon RC   5th Girl

Under 12
1st  Peter Kibble  Chippenham & Dist  1st Boy
2nd  Etienne Georgi Mid Devon RC  2nd Boy 452943
3rd  James Tillett  Newport Velo   3rd  Boy 
4th  Tom Sewell  Swindon RC   4th Boy
5th  Lewis Revill  Chippenham & Dist  5th  Boy
6th  Rhys Britton  Newport Velo   6th Boy
7th  Sam Tillett  Newport Velo   7th Boy
8th  Nicole Pollock  Newport Velo   1st Girl
9th  Emily Tillett  Newport Velo   2nd Girl

Under 14
1st  Tristen Robbins Newport Velo   1st Boy
2nd  Chris Brettell  Team Tor 2000  2nd Boy
3rd  Ashley Hutchison VC St Raphael   3rd Boy
4th  Ben Reed  Chippenham Wheelers 4th Boy
5th  Max Berryman Chippenham & Dist Whlrs 5th Boy 465495
6th  Rhianna Jones  Swindon RC   1st Girl
7th  Katie Hawke  Unattached   DNF
Under 16
1st  Matthew Cross Newport Velo   1st Boy
2nd  Jack Reed  Chippenham Wheelers 2nd Boy
3rd  Luke Cowley  Swindon RC   3rd Boy
4th  Matt Godden  Gloucester City CC  4th Boy
5th  Luke Davies  Chippenham Wheelers 5th Boy
6th  Sam Roberts  Chippenham Wheelers 6th Boy
7th  Charley Bradley Weilands BCDS   7th Boy
8th  Craig May  Newport Olympic  8th Boy

1st  Marcin Bialoblocki Wilier/Big Maggys/Prendas
2nd  Ian Rees  Wilier/Big maggys/Prendas
3rd  Andrew Magnier Cycle Premier Metaltek 441698
4th  Hugh Wilson  Team Qoroz  
5th  Grant Bayton  Wilier/Big maggys/Prendas
6th  Mark Perry  Wilier/Big Maggys/Prendas
7th  Richard Mardle Felt Culbornes RT 
8th   Rob Gough  Arctic Premier  
9th  Neil Reeder  GWR Team  
10th  Cam Austin  London Dynamo Prologue
11th  Mark Noble   Franco Factory Team