We have a new website Try it now Hide
 Login Register for free news, tips & videos

Bookmark  and Share  Follow britishcycling.org.uk on  Follow      British Cycling on Facebook  Follow British      Cycling on Twitter Visit our      Youtube Channel Visit our      images on Flickr

CDNW Women`s Road Race

Please take time out to back our "Keep Racing on the Roads" campaign to save Road racing by becoming a fan of our dedicated facebook page



Sunday, May 9, 2010; Clitheroe (Lancs) | Event Website  | by Ian McVety
Part of British Cycling's Women's National Series

A calm but cloudy afternoon in Lancashire saw the second of this year’s Women’s National Road Race series won by Hannah Walker (GS Surosa) in a spectacular sprint for the line.


A calm but cloudy afternoon in Lancashire saw the second of this year’s Women’s National Series Road Race won by Hannah Walker (GS Surosa) in a spectacular sprint for the line. This deceptive course is predominantly flat with a couple of minor climbs and it were these that the better represented teams were trying to use to break up the Cycling Development North West promoted race.

Motorpoint/Marshalls Pasta, Rapha/Condor CC and Maxgear RT were well represented and as lap after lap was completed, a large amount of effort was expended to break down this field of 40 riders. In a mixed field from Elite to Junior 3 riders, there were the inevitable casualties, but in the main, the race stayed together.

Kara Chesworth (Dysynni CC) made several noticeable attempts as did eventual 2nd placed Emma Grant (Team AW Cycles, only to be brought back by the bunch. With a bunch kick now looking likley to decide the winner, Hannah Walker managed to position herself towards the front of the group as they made the final turn at the top of the rise to head for the finishing straight.

Kara Chesworth, (Dysynni CC) attacks the bunch

Having gained nearly two lengths towards the line it was looking like she had timed her sprint too early as Grant and Holland fought back either side of her. Gulping in air, she lunged for the line to win by half a bike length in what was a close run and spectacular finish. Speaking afterwards Walker commented on how she had been struggling for much of the race to retain her position. “I found the numerous bends quite difficult and kept loosing my position” she said.

Alli Holland had been frustrated by her team being unable to break the peloton. “We all kept attacking but it just kept being brought back,” she lamented, but still happy with her 3rd position and overall lead in the series.

Hannah Walker in centre (GS Surosa) narrowly beats Emma Grant, (Team AW Cycles) left.

2nd  Emma Grant, (Team AW Cycles), 1st Hannah Walker, (GS Surosa), 3rd Alli Holland, 9Maxgear RT)


1. Hannah Walker - GS Surosa
2. Emma Grant – Team AW Cycles
3. Alli Holland – Maxgear RT
4. Hannah Barnes – Motorpoint / Marshalla Pasta
5. Katie Fearnehough – Rapha / Condor CC
6. Kara Chesworth Dysynni CC
7. Marianne Britten Maxgear RT
8. Tamina Oliver - BC PM
9. Anne Ewing – ERC The Bicycle Works
10. Jane Barr – Stirling BC

Round 1 Report and Photos -- Cheshire Classic
2010 Series Standings

Login to post and rate comments
No comments posted
Latest Results


Upcoming Events