Report: Wessex RR League #1

Home » Road racing

Bookmark  and Share  Follow on Follow British Cycling on Facebook  Follow British Cycling on Twitter Visit our Youtube Channel Visit our images on Flickr

Wessex Road Racing League

Saturday 13th March; QinetiQ Saturday Circuit 2010 (1/5) | by Graham Robins

Racing returned to the fantastic closed road Barnsfield circuit in the Christchurch area of Dorset. The weather was good with very little wind to hamper the riders for this first race of the season for the Wessex Cycle Racing League after a very successful first season. The course at Barnsfield is traffic free (apart from the Commissaire and photographer) so totally safe for first time riders.

Photo slideshow from Graham Robins on Flickr

The days racing got underway with a Regional B 3/4 race over ninety minutes. After the initial run out, a couple of attacks happened with James Cotty, who had punctured on the start line, changing a wheel and then making the early going. As the early laps ticked away, Eamonn Deane (Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers) was making it look like a training ride in the sun.

Eamonn was away for four laps building a lead of about 15 seconds, before being joined by James D'Arcy (Southdown Bikes) for a lap. The peloton were working hard not to let these two riders get a big gap, and time and time again the gap dropped. With three laps to go, the bunch were all back together, but Eamonn had other ideas and went again only to be pulled back.

With two to go the bunch rolled over the finish line all back together and again Eamonn attacked. When the bunch took the bell another lap later, they were all together and the result looked like it was Eamonn’s for the taking, however his team mate Dave Pickering had other ideas. With most of a lap to go, Dave rolled around the bunch and headed of to his maiden road race win, winning with a clear margin to the chasing bunch which by now had fragmented.

Provisional Result
1. Dave Pickering (Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers)
2. James Ebden (Wightlink RT)
3. James Cotty (Wheelbase/Cannondale)
4. Steve Moss (Bournemouth Arrow CC/Hotel Collingwood)
5. Rupert Beale (Onelife-Fuga Racing Team)

Victory for Dave Pickering (Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers). Photo: Graham Robins

National B Race
The second race of the day was a lot easier to follow as after the first couple of lap’s, five riders were away and clear, working together like a well drilled “Team Trial” said one rider. The five away were Steve Dring (Team Echelon – Spiuk), Richard Eastham (Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers), Ross Adams (Red Kite Cycles), Duncan Sherwood (Hillingdon) and Henry Newbury (Fareham Wheelers).

With these five riders away, the chasing bunch slipped back to trail at about 30 seconds. With a lap to go, Steve Dring decided to see who had the legs should he decide to make a break for it. As the riders took the bell they were fairly close together and then as the race neared its completion,  Steve attacked and got away from Henry and Ross to take the sprint.

Provisional Result
1. Steve Dring (Team Echelon – Spiuk)
2. Henry Newbury (Fareham Wheelers)
3. Ross Adams (Red Kite Cycles)
4. Duncan Sherwood (Hillingdon Cycling Club)
5. Richard Eastham (Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers)