Olympic Development Programme Riders 2010

Home » Road racing

Bookmark and Share  BC on Facebook Follow British Cycling on Facebook BC on Twitter Follow British Cycling on Twitter

Olympic Development Programme Riders 2010

Story posted November 5, 2009

The Great Britain Cycling Team has confirmed the names of the young riders who will be given the opportunity of being part of the Olympic Development Programme (ODP) in 2010.  The ODP covers all Olympic disciplines: Road, Track, Mountain Biking and BMX for predominantly first and second year juniors (16 to 18 year olds).

The ODP was added to the GB Development Structure in 2005 and has had many success stories with ODP riders already having gone on to compete at the Olympics. The ODP is one part of the pathway that GB have created for young riders who can get world class coaching and support from the ages of 14 upwards (Talent Team). The other development programmes include the Olympic Academy which is for riders over 18 and under 23.

Places on the programme are discretionary and decided every autumn. There is a no closed door policy and riders who are performing at a high level can be invited to guest with the programme at other times of the year and some of these will go on to join the programme.  Riders invited onto programme - 25 riders:

Womens Endurance - 4
Ruby Miller - 2nd year junior
Laura Trott - 2nd year junior
Emma Grant - 1st year senior
Harriet Owen - 1st year junior
MTB - 4
Grant Ferguson - 1st year junior
Kenta Gallagher - 2nd year junior
Steve James - 2nd year junior
Katy Winton - 1st year junior
Mens Endurance - 8
Sam Harrison - 2nd year junior
Dan McLay - 2nd year junior
Josh Edmsonson - 2nd year junior
Simon Yates - 2nd year junior
Adam Yates - 2nd year junior
Matt Bailey - 2nd year junior
Owain Doull - 1st year junior
Josh Papworth - 1st year junior
BMX - 4
Tre Whyte - 1st year junior
Dan McBride - 1st year junior
Kyle Evans - 1st year junior
Abbie Taylor - 1st year junior
Track Sprint - 5
Vicki Williamson - 1st year junior
Callum Skinner - 2nd year junior
Kian Emadi - 2nd year junior
Lewis Oliva - 2nd year junior
John Paul - 1st year junior