American Colin Joyce of Rally UHC Cycling wins 2019 CiCLE Classic

American Colin Joyce of Rally UHC Cycling wins 2019 CiCLE Classic

Home » Road racing

The 15th edition of the Rutland – Melton International CiCLE Classic on Sunday 28th April was won in an exciting bunch sprint by American Colin Joyce of Rally UHC Cycling.

The 24 year old from Pocatello, Idaho, pipped last year’s winner Gabz Cullaigh to the line to be crowned 2019 champion, closely followed in third by Rory Townsend, Canyon DHB Bloor Homes.

A three man breakaway lead for over three quarters of the race, Wim Kleiman from Dutch team Monkey Town, Matthew Nowell from Saint Piran and Josh Horsley from Team PB Performance at one point separating themselves a full 8 minutes from a chasing peloton.

Lone Chaser Charlie Quarterman from British team Zappi-Holdsworth made several attacks off the front of the peloton to try and bridge the gap to the leading three in the breakaway. He got within a couple of minutes of reaching the breakaway however was eventually picked up by the peloton once again.

Colin Joyce of Rally UHC wins the 2019 CiCLE Classic.

The breakaway had worked hard all day with noses in the wind in a tough race but the peloton bided their time and pulled them back in the last 20kms, just over the brow of Cuckoo Hill heading towards the Stapleford Park sector. 

After the infamous Sawgate with a few punctures and 194kms done, Connor Swift was leading what was left of the peloton with around 10kms left in the race.

The race finally made its approach to Melton and it was here that a bunch sprint of 40 or more riders could be seen by the waiting crowds.

Gabz Cullaigh was all set to take a second consecutive win of the event only when the Joyce pushed for the line and snatched the win in a dramatic finish.

Tom Pidcock and Gabriel Cullaigh riding at the CiCLE Classic 2019.

Although visibly disappointed with the individual result of second place, Gabz Cullaigh’s Team WIGGINS Le Col won the Team Award.

The winner of the King of the Bergs was in the breakaway all day and went to Matthew Nowell from Saint Piran. Dutchman Wim Kleiman from Monkey Town also won his weight in beer with the Owston Special Grainstore Beer Award.

Full Results

The CiCLE Classic was round two of the Tour of Britain qualification process for the six British UCI Continental teams.

Tour of Britain qualification standings after Round 2

Team Points Points with dropped score
Canyon dhb p/b Bloor Homes 18 10
Team WIGGINS Le Col 14 10
Vitus Pro Cycling p/b Brother UK 10 8
Madison Genesis 7 6
SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling 7 6
Ribble Pro cycling 6 4