Castle Combe Summer Series Week Six

Home » Road racing

Event: 7 June 2012
Location: Castle Combe Chippenham, Wiltshire
Report: Jacqui Cook

Week 6, and summer really has disappeared! With it being half term it could go one of two ways tonight either we have loads of extra riders or all the usual riders are away on holiday! Combined with howling gusty winds and heavy squally showers we weren’t surprised numbers were as low as they were.

Having said that the youngsters never seem perturbed by the weather and 30 youth riders lined up and displayed some great bike handling positions and impressive twiddling on their restricted gears with the wind at their backs.

Sam Rees attacked relentlessly in the combined U16/U14 race and deserved to win from Ashley Hutchison with Peter Kibble holding off Etienne Georgi for the win in the U14 category. Fresh from her exploits in the NW Youth tour Bethany Taylor was lively in the early laps and hung in with the lads taking a good win in that category. Megan Chard continued her winning ways beating Emily Tillett and Sophie Taylor in the U14 age category.

The U12 races were once again as keenly fought as ever with Pfeiffer Georgi out sprinting Tom Price in a very close sprint with Joe Rees, James Codd and Elynor Backstedt all from Maindy Flyers taking the next three spots.

The 10 lap U10 event was a battle between two riders throughout with a very close sprint being taken by Joe Nethell from Bevan Smith who beat his brother Ayrton Smith all three representing Maindy Flyers who had a good night tonight. Euan Taylor bravely rode with his arm in a cast making sure he scored points for the overall. Zoe Backstedt won the U8 event from Daniel Butler and Sophie Oxenham.

The 3rd’s/4th’s race was won in a close sprint by one of the series founders Dave Rutty from Gloucester City CC’s Sean Townsend. 3rd place was taken by Luke Davies earning enough points to gain his second cat licence in the process. With the strong winds blowing only around 20 of the 30 riders completed the distance.

In the E/1/2 event only 16 riders managed to last the distance with a break of four riders going clear and “Tank” Lewis winning from Toby Eichler followed by Tav Walker.