British Cycling reveals unsung hero shortlist

British Cycling reveals unsung hero shortlist



British Cycling has today announced its shortlist for Local Cycling Heroes, a campaign to recognise the sterling work done by grassroots volunteers across the UK.

Turning the spotlight on the unsung stars of cycling, the shortlist pays tribute to the committed people who give their time and energy to help all sorts of cycling – and all sorts of cyclist.

From almost one hundred entries, British Cycling has shortlisted 24 dedicated individuals, each playing a pivotal role in their community by inspiring others to get the most out of their bike riding.

From using cycling to build stronger communities, to getting more women and disabled people on bikes, our Cycling Heroes represent just a snapshot of the incredible work going on. Double world champion Becky James pays tribute to our finalists:

'Volunteers are essential to cycling in this country, without them we wouldn’t have a sport and we certainly wouldn’t have Olympic and world champions.

"I know how much volunteers have helped my career, so it's great to see so many people being recognised for giving up their time for cycling. I'd urge everyone to get behind their Local Cycling Heroes and vote!'

This campaign is part of British Cycling’s commitment to get more people on their bikes. To find out how you can get involved and vote for your Local Cycling Hero, visit Voting closes on Friday 30 August. The individuals with the most votes will be crowned British Cycling’s Local Cycling Hero for their region and win prizes including VIP tickets to the National Track Championships in Manchester in November.

Shortlisted for the North West region

Sue Blaylock: accessible cycling champion
Sandra Green: inspiring women to take up cycling
Peter Ward: driving force behind an impressive cycle route

Shortlisted for the Yorkshire and North East region

Naz Ali: using cycling to make a difference to communities
Bill Cheadle: helping cycling stars excel
Rob Mawhood: changing the face of cycle speedway

Shortlisted for the Scotland region

Carl Lane: determined club supporter and motivator
Rich Latimer: trail builder extraordinaire
John McCracken: promoting cycling skills and confidence

Shortlisted for the Midlands region

Maryam Amatullah: challenging perceptions about women’s cycling
Ian McFadyen: charity cyclist and ride leader
Richard Smith: a leading light in transplant cycling

Shortlisted for the Central & East region

Ralph Bagge: committed Ride Leader & infrastructure campaigner
Lyn Gilbert: cycle training superstar
Roy Pink: bike repairer and enthusiast

Shortlisted for the London region

Paulo Cotrim: helping kids from all backgrounds get into BMX
Spencer Harradine: coach, organiser & advocate
Tony Harvey: making inclusive cycling a reality in East London

Shortlisted for the South East region

Annette Covey: disability cycling champion
Tom Morton: first class club cycling supporter
Shaun Reed: inspiring young people to get into cycling

Shortlisted for the South / South West / Wales region

Michele Radant: on a mission to get Devon cycling
Paul Smith: inspirational charity cyclist
John Wheat: enthusiastic social ride organiser