Overall HSBC UK | National Cyclo-Cross Trophy winners crowned in York

Overall HSBC UK | National Cyclo-Cross Trophy winners crowned in York

Home » Cyclo-cross » British National Trophy

Ffion James and Gosse van der Meer were crowned HSBC UK | National Trophy winners after the final round of the series in York this weekend.

James came into the weekend just two points behind series leader Sophie Thackray, and her third-place finish – her fourth of an incredibly consistent series – was enough to ensure an overall victory; she finished on 214 points to Thackray’s 178.

Katie Scott completed the overall podium, ending on 132 points, which kept her just out of reach of York winner Hattie Harden, who ended on 130 after riding three rounds of the series, two of which she won.

In the men’s event, six-time champion Ian Field was denied a seventh title by van der Meer, after the Dutchman finished second in York.

That moved his points total on to 196, and as Field struggled with illness and eventually withdrew from the race, that proved enough to take overall victory.

Ffion James wins the 2019 HSBC UK | National Cyclo-Cross Trophy.

Field ended in an overall second with 177, while Toby Barnes took third and also claimed the under-23 men’s jersey.

Other overall winners included Daniel Barnes (junior men), Thackray (women’s under-23), Josie Nelson (junior women), Oliver Akers (boys’ under-16), Zoe Backstedt (girls’ under-16), Sebastien Grindley (boys’ under-16), Carys Lloyd (girls’ under-14).

The veterans’ categories saw series wins for Adrian Lansley (men 40-49), Nick Craig (men 50-59), Robin Delve (men 60+), Kate Eedy (women 40-49), Tracey Fletcher (women 50-59) and Nicola Davies (women 60+).

The final milestone in this season’s domestic cyclo-cross calendar is the HSBC UK | National Cyclo-cross Championships, which take place in Shrewsbury over the weekend of January 11 and 12.


About the event