Beaumont dominates at Shredhill in National 4X Series

Beaumont dominates at Shredhill in National 4X Series

Home » Mountain Bike (MTB) » British MTB Series » Four Cross Series

Scott Beaumont had a dominant weekend at the fourth and fifth round of the National 4X Series, hosted at Shredhill in Gloucestershire.

Round 4

In the elite men's, Scott Beaumont was on a mission all day to claim the win. Battling through his motos and taking three wins, Beaumont made it to the final up against Dave Roberts, Ben Jones and Tom Bell. The gate dropped and Beaumont made a strong start, leading into turn one. The three riders behind battled, allowing Beaumont to bolt. Roberts slipped into second and Jones was fighting with Bell all the way, but Beaumont crossed the line first ahead of Roberts, Jones and Bell.

In the women's category, the Queen of British 4X Josie McFall raced against senior men so the opportunity was there for a fresh female winner. Katie Hayes took the opportunity and grabbed the win ahead of Katherine Oldfield, Alice Taylor and Hannah Escott. Shout out to Hannah for once again commentating and racing.


In senior and junior race, youngster James Sankey was unstoppable taking a very impressive win. Louis Hopkins pushed hard in the final and finished second with Connor Joscelyn in third and absolute crowd superstar Izak Williams in fourth.

The juvenile’s category saw Barnaby Tucker take the win from Felyx Williams, Jono Harradine and Jay Holt-Davies. The youth had some great racing through the day and picking a winner would have been impossible. Dominic Hines made the gate and rode an awesome lap to take the win from Lucas Rose, Harvey Gulliver and Zac Twitchen.

The future is starting young in British 4X with the rippers category as Joshua Sylvester took the win from Robin Matern Alonso, Jacob Marsh and Mario Gonzales.

In the big fun class, Will Houston took the win and looked smooth all the way to the victory. James Moores finished second with Martyn Stephans in third and Reece Packarp in fourth.

Dave Richardson won the masters category ahead of the returning Chris Evans. Simon Nash finished third and Dave Jacquin was fourth.

Richard Rowland took the win from Mick Ridgeway in the veteran’s category, while Joseph O’Neil and Roy Sutton. In the grand veteran’s, David Michael took the win from Any Davies, David Trevena and Andrew Ballard.

Round 5

Sunday’s elite men final saw Scott Beaumont line up in gate one, Tommy Magnenat in two, Tom Bell and elite rookie Gabe Simpson in four. The gate dropped and it was Beaumont who took the holeshot leading into turn one. All four made it through and set off down the motorway section. Beaumont pulled his lead out convincingly but the fight for second was tight all the way down the track.

Crossing the finish line, it was Beaumont taking the win to round off a perfect weekend with Irishman Magnenat in second, Bell in third and Simpson in fourth.

At the finish line Beaumont said:

“I am so stoked. It has been a perfect weekend taking the win both days. I’m so happy. The track has been amazing all weekend so a big thank you to the Shredhill team! Thanks to British 4X for putting on an amazing race series – I can’t wait for Afan now in July.”


The senior women were flying all weekend and predicting a winner was impossible. When the gate dropped, it was Katie Hayes who held it together to take the win, whole it was a hard fought second for Claire Dorrian with Alice Taylor in third and Katherine Oldfield in fourth.

The senior and junior race saw Connor Joscelyn learn from his mistakes on Saturday and take the win from junior rider James Sankey in second, senior Louis Hopkins in third with junior Izak Williams in fourth.

Juveniles racked up in the gate and after a dominating day, Barnaby Tucker finished the job off with a deserved win in front of Jay Holt-Davies, Felyx Williams and Kasperi Reynolds. The youth race saw Zac Twitchen put his BMX experience to good use when he made a great start. He was able to hold onto the win from Lucas Rose, Dominic Hines and Harvey Gulliver.

The 7 - 9 rippers saw Jaxon Marsh take the win from Harrison Grigg and Harvey Roberts, while the 10 - 12 rippers were swapping the lead all the way to the finish line. Cody Wrayford was the victor ahead of Robin Matern Alonso, Jacob Marsh and Hadley Harding.

In the masters race, it was an impressive weekend for Dave Richardson who took the win in similar style to Saturday’s race. The race for second was close all the way with passes galore, but Matt Hillyard crossed the finish line ahead of Simon Nash and David Sibley.

The veterans race saw Richard Rowland ride fast and smart all day to take a great win ahead of Mick Ridgeway, Joseph O’Neill and Roy Sutton. The grand veterans saw David Michael take the win from Andy Davies, Andrew Ballard and David Trevena.

A huge thanks to the series sponsor Schwalbe who help to make it all possible.

Thank you to all the venues, riders, medics, commentators, officials, commissaires, marshals, family and friends who attend every race. You make 4X the amazing sport that it is and long may it continue.

Photos available here