Preview: 2014 British Cycling National Circuit Race Championships

Preview: 2014 British Cycling National Circuit Race Championships

Home » Road racing » British Circuit Championships

The 2014 British Cycling National Circuit Race Championships take place on Wednesday 9 July in Hull city centre.

Both the men's and women's events will consist of 50 minutes of racing plus five laps, with the finish in front of Hull city hall.

The winners will have the privilege of wearing the red, white and blue striped jersey of a British champion for the next 12 months and will join a select list of winners including Mark Cavendish, Lizzie Armitstead and Olympic champions Joanna Rowsell and Dani King.

Elite men

The experienced Russell Downing will attempt to defend the title he won in York last year. The former Team Sky rider was in the colours of NetApp-Endura when he overcame Ian Wilkinson in a sprint finish.

He returns with NFTO Pro Cycling in search of a third title and the 35-year-old has a strong team around him including brother Dean, himself a British circuit race champion in 2008.

Adam Blythe, who showed his pedigree with victory in the opening British Cycling Elite Circuit series race at the Otley Grand Prix, is also selected for the newly-formed outfit as is Jon Mould and James McCallum.

But with an 81-person field there will be no shortage of competition with Rapha Condor JLT bringing the largest team consisting of 12 riders.

In Ed Clancy and Graham Briggs they boast two former champions, in 2010 and 2011 respectively, in a line-up that mixes youth and experience.   

George Atkins heads up Team Raleigh’s squad, the 22-year-old took the British Cycling Elite Circuit Series title in 2013. Ian Wilkinson joins him, aiming to go one better than his second place in York.

Mark Christian races after a notable ride at the British Cycling National Road Championships in Monmouthshire, while Yanto Barker and Evan Oliphant will also start for Raleigh.

Madison Genesis include British under-23 time-trial champion Scott Davies and former team pursuit world champion Andy Tennant.

The men’s race is scheduled to start at 8.15pm.  

Course map for the 2014 British Cycling National Circuit Race Championships.

Elite women

With 2013 winner Hannah Barnes competing at the Giro Rosa with UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team, a new women’s champion is guaranteed.

Matrix Fitness-Vulpine have named eight riders - by far the biggest squad present - including Jessie Walker, para-cycling world champion pilot Corrine Hall and Penny Rowson.

Charline Joiner - named in Team Scotland for the Commonwealth Games - and Gabriella Shaw make up the Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International contingent with Great Britain Olympic Academy Programme rider Amy Roberts the sole representative for Wiggle Honda.

Sixteen-year-old Abby-Mae Parkinson is joined by Lauren O’Brien for RST Racing in the 31-rider field.

Eileen Roe of Starley Primal Pro Cycling has already shown her circuit racing ability in winning the 2014 Matrix Fitness Grand Prix Series. A repeat display in Hull would continue the Scottish rider’s preparations perfectly for the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow.

Junior team pursuit world champion Amy Hill, recently named in the Great Britain squad for the UEC Junior and Under-23 European Track Championships, is also on the start list.

The women’s race is scheduled to start at 6.15pm.

The 2014 British Cycling National Circuit Championships will be broadcast live from 5:45pm on the British Cycling website on Wednesday 9 July.