Report: Scottish XC Series Round 2

Home » Mountain Bike (MTB)

Bookmark    and Share  Follow on Follow  British Cycling on Facebook  Follow British  Cycling on Twitter Visit our  Youtube Channel Visit our  images on Flickr

Report Scottish XC Series Round 2

Regional XC Racing Home | Results

Over 200 riders made the trip north for round 2 of the Dales Cycles SXC series to Contin, home of the legendary Strathpuffer race. Steve MacDonald and his team from Square Wheels produced a technical mud fest for them to enjoy! The course started with a lung busting climb, after which riders were rewarded with a twisty rooty, rocky descent. The rain of the previous few days made it muddy and slippery in parts.

Calum Magowan (Peebles CC) repeated his first round win in the Juvenile race. Behind him there was an exciting sprint for second, with newcomer James MacDonald just pipping Callum Russell (Square Wheels). In the Juvenile girls race, Lucy Grant (Peebles CC/Alpine Bikes) continued her winning streak. Jenna Fenwick (Stewartry Wheelers/MPG Cycles) took second in front of Elena Melton (Wolfpax Riders). The Youth race was won by Stuart Wilcox (Innerleithen MTB Racing/i-Cycles) with Ben Miller (West Highland Wheelers/Off Beat Bikes) in second and Ryan Fenwick (Stewartry Wheelers/MPG Cycles) in third.

Sandy Wallace (Sandy Wallace Cycles) continued his unbeaten run in the super veteran's category despite having competed in the Scottish ten mile time trial the day before. He then rushed off to Culloden to compete in a road race in the afternoon! Steve Flindall (Walkers CC) came second with Sandy Allan (Sandy Wallace Cycles) in third. In the Grand Veteran's race, Gregor Grant (Square Wheels) won by ten minutes from Ian Robson (MTS Cyclesport/Inkland RT). SXC committee member, Craig Coid (Rockhard Racing) produced the ride of his life to finish third - his first ever podium! Mary Wark (Walkers CC) made up for her double puncture in round one by taking the win in the female Grand Vets race from Lesley Kirkwood (Peebles CC) and Lesley Yarrow (Stirling Bike Club). British Champion Anne Murray (Square Wheels) won the female veteran's category, with Jo Cardwell (The Bike Chain/Moray BC) taking second and Julie Nimmo (Walkers CC) third.

The female Masters race was a battle between Katrina Jennings (Ian Bishop Cycles/Dulnain Bridge Gararge) and Samantha Dainty (Ticket2RideBC/USE) with Jennings the eventual winner. Katie Carmichael (Hervelo) finished third. Endurance rider, Hannah Barnes (Nevis Cycles RT) proved she has speed as well as stamina by winning the Sport female race from Eilidh Wells and Lyndsey Carson (Velo Club Moulin). Elke Schmidt (Squadra Porcini) won the Elite female category from Natalie Milne (Team Leslie Bikeshop - Right Move Windows).

Gary McCrae (Team Leslie Bikeshop -Right Move Windows) repeated his round one win in the Veterans category. Kenny Kentley (Eqipe Velo Ecosse Montpeliers) took second place with John McCaffery (Team Leslie Bikeshop - Right Move Windows) taking third. In the Masters race, Colin May (Edinburgh RC) won by an impressive seven minutes from Gordon Bathgate (Square Wheels) and David MacDonald (Square Wheels). The Junior race was won by Lewis Kirkwood (Glentress Riders) with Greg Williamson (MTBCut/Orange) in second and David MacKenizie in third. The Sport race was won by Andrew Arendt (Glasgow MTB Club) from Allan Love (Edinburgh University CC) and Stephen McPherson.

The Elite race saw the long awaited return of Commonwealth Games rider, Rab Wardell (The Kinesis Morvelo Project). He did not disappoint, leading from start to finish. His Scottish Cycling colleague, Paul Newnham chased hard all race to finish a minute and a half down in second place. British Veteran's champion, Alex Glasgow took third place.

Full results are available at

Next month the series moves down to Aberfoyle for round three on the May 23.