Report: Hope XC Race Series 2013 - Race 4

Report: Hope XC Race Series 2013 - Race 4

Home » Mountain Bike (MTB)

Location: Lee Quarry, Rossendale
Event: 13 October 2013

Source: Paul McKeown

The race was the conclusion of our sixth series and the weather held off to give a dry race for all. If our Ride On ‘Lads’ category Series winner, Will Lewis (High Peak Cycles) is anything to go by the future is in safe hands.

Always calm and confident on the bike and always very quick, Will showed why he’s top of the pile for 2013 with another impressive victory. Joe Williams (Holme Valley Wheelers) and Joseph Entwistle got off to flyers with super-fast first laps but had to be content with second and third respectively. Will showed great staying power to win with in an impressive five-laps. The final standings saw series Ted Credie as runner-up. Jake Gillian’s efforts got him third for 2013. Huge congratulations to all who raced in this category for 2013, we hope to see all of you back next year.

At the other end of the age spectrum, Simon Fox (Darwen Singlespeed) secured the 2013 Lusso/Maxgear Racing Grand Veterans Series with a Round 4 race win. Those who’ve seen Simon race will know he doesn’t do gears, but he had to make do with second in the Singlespeed category. Carl Draper was super quick despite only having one gear on his bike winning a well-deserved spot prize for his skills. Ironworks Frames’ Mick Rushton was third.

Stuart Rider (Riders Cycle Centre) took a Lusso/Maxgear Racing Veterans Series win. Ian Palmer (Santa Cruz) was second on the day with Peter Squires (Big Bear Bikes) in third.

The Big Bear Bikes Weekend Warriors is the biggest of our racing classes and they never disappoint on the course. Ben Neaves (thebikeyard/ilovevelo) was the Weekend Warrior Round 4 winner, with Rossendale RC’s James Tudor in second and Andrew Lindley just behind him. Ben was the only rider to manage six laps just escaping being lapped by Kevin Smith, however he had to complete the final lap with a broken chain mixing running with freewheeling. Ben had to make do with third overall for the Series. James Tudor grabbed top spot for 2013 with Rob Lihou taking second.

Kevin Smith earned the title of fastest man and carried on where he left off at Round 3. He was ridiculously quick up and downhill and his first place bagged him the big prize for 2013. There was a pattern emerging as Leisure Lakes’ David Bentley’s skills and speed took him to second in Round 4 and second overall. Dalby Bike Barn’s Ben Lawson was third in the race but Ted Credie bagged that place for the year.

In the Racing Divas, Alison Rushton made 2013 her year with another emphatic win to be classes fastest woman. Jane Squires (Big Bear Bikes) was second on the day.

Singletrack’s Beate Kubitz got second for the Series with WXC World Racing’s Amber Southern in third.

2013 has been a great year. So to the riders, marshals, timing team, Rossendale and Pendle MRT, Rossendale BC, Lancashire CC, sponsors and supporters we say thank you. Without you all there wouldn’t be a Brownbacks Hope XC Series.