The Sam Walton Memorial Border Trophy Road Race

Road , Northumberland – Sunday, 19 Aug 2012

Event Details

Event URN:


Start Date:

Sun, 19th Aug 2012

Event Type:

Road (Competitive)


Netherwitton Village Hall, Netherwitton, Nr Morpeth, Northumberland, NE61 4NW
View map

Info for Riders

This race replaces the Ballantyne Memorial race due to be held on 5th Sept 2012.

The Races

Date Start Race name Classification Band Rider Cat Race length
19/08/12 10:30 E/1/2/3 - 130 km National B Band 2 1st, 2nd, 3rd, Elite 130km / 81 miles

View All

Enter a Race

Race E/1/2/3
Date Start Classification Band Rider Cat
Sun 19/08/12 10:30 National B Band 2 1st, 2nd, 3rd, Elite
Entry: Postal: (£12.00), On Day: (£15.00)
Race E/1/2/3
Sun 19/08/12 - 10:30
Classification: National B
Band: Band 2
Rider Cat: 1st, 2nd, 3rd, Elite
Entry: Postal: (£12.00), On Day: (£15.00)

The Sam Walton Memorial Border Trophy Road Race

Posted 16/08/2012 - British Cycling

Sam Walton was a very popular member of the Barnesbury Cycling Club, who tragically died in a motorcycling accident in July 2000 View Full Report

Confirmed Results

Race E/1/2/3

Position Name Club name Rider status Category Time Points
1 Kit Gilham Herbalife-Leisure Lakes Bikes.... Finished Elite 03:33:30:000 60
2 Simon Baxter Herbalife-Leisure Lakes Bikes.... Finished Elite 00:00:45:000 52
3 Ben Ives We Love Mountains Racing Team Finished 1st 00:01:28:000 45
4 James Alder Cycleways Sports & Leisure Finished 2nd --- 40
5 Daniel Smith Velo29 Events Finished N/A --- 35
6 Collin Humphrey Polypipe Cycling Team Finished 1st --- 31
7 Scott McCrossan Rock to Roll CC Finished 1st --- 27
8 Alastair Kay Herbalife-Leisure Lakes Bikes.... Finished 1st 00:02:26:000 23
9 Thomas Timothy Velo29 Events Finished 1st --- 20
10 Richard Bott Herbalife-Leisure Lakes Bikes.... Finished Elite 00:02:38:000 17
11 Ian Taylor Adept Precision RT/NE Healthca... Finished 1st 00:02:59:000 15
12 Jamie Caldwell MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling Finished Elite 00:03:11:000 13
13 Andrew Hawdon Herbalife-Leisure Lakes Bikes.... Finished Elite --- 11
14 Thomas Stewart RST Racing Team Finished 1st --- 9
15 Nick Spencer Gosforth RC Finished 2nd --- 7
16 Alastair Hepworth V S Cycles, Brighouse Finished 2nd --- 6
17 Neil Taylor Edinburgh RC Finished N/A --- 5
18 Karl Denton Finished 2nd --- 3
19 Harry Tanfield Teamwallis Racing Team Finished 1st 00:04:40:000 2
20 Patrick Pennefather Beacon Wheelers Finished 2nd 00:05:03:000 1
21 Ayrton Pellet Edinburgh RC Finished 2nd 00:05:53:000 0
Show More

Disclaimer: This event listing has been supplied by a registered event organiser. The views and statements expressed herein do not necessarily reflect the views of British Cycling or its associated federations. British Cycling does not warrant the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of those views or statements and does not accept any legal liability whatsoever arising from any reliance on the views, statements and subject matter of the event listing. This content may include hyperlinks to other web sites that are not owned or controlled by British Cycling. British Cycling has no control over, and assumes no responsibility for, the content, privacy policies, or practices of any third party websites. All content of communications between event organisers and entrants should adhere to our acceptable usage policy If you believe any content to be inappropriate please report it to

Improve your cycling with British Cycling's Ridesmart