53rd Eddie Soens Memorial Cycle Race

Road , Liverpool – Saturday, 01 Mar 2014

Event Details

Event URN:


Start Date:

Sat, 1st Mar 2014

Event Type:

Road (Competitive)


Aintree Motor Racing Circuit, Aintree Building, Aintree Way, Aintree Racecourse Retail & Bus Pk, Liverpool, Lancashire, L9 5AQ
View map

Entry close date

Sun, 24th Feb 2013

Event Overview

Classic season-opening cycle race at Aintree Racecourse

Full competitor list and event manual now available to view and download on the website 

The Races

Date Start Race name Classification Band Rider Cat Race length
1/03/14 09:30 E/1/2/3/4 - 80 km Regional C+ Band 5 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, ... 80km / 50 miles

View All

Enter a Race

Race E/1/2/3/4
Date Start Classification Band Rider Cat
Sat 01/03/14 09:30 Regional C+ Band 5 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, Elite
Entry: Postal: (£18.00), On Day: (£24.00)
Race E/1/2/3/4
Sat 01/03/14 - 09:30
Classification: Regional C+
Band: Band 5
Rider Cat: 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, Elite
Entry: Postal: (£18.00), On Day: (£24.00)

Wilkinson wins Eddie Soens Memorial

Posted 01/03/2014 - Carl Lawrenson

53rd Eddie Soens Memorial Handicap
Report: Snowdon Sports

TEAM Raleigh’s Ian Wilkinson sprinted to victory in the 2014 Eddie Soens Memorial at Aintree Racecourse on Saturday, holding off two breakaway rivals at the end of the 81-kilometre race.

For many teams it was their first outing of the season, and the field boasted several of the country’s top domestic squads who went on to dominate the podium.

With riders set off in four handicap groups and separated by a maximum of three minutes (between the first group of 4th cat riders, juniors and women, and the elite and 1st cat riders), it took the fast men a few laps before they managed to bring the 30-lap race together.

But once it was down to one big bunch, it didn’t take long before the attacks started coming.

Shortly after the elite riders had caught the early groups and moved to the front, they formed a large group at the front as the rest began falling away.

But with six laps to go the first serious attack came, with Wilkinson hitting out alongside rivals Graham Briggs (Rapha Condor-JLT), Rob Partridge (Velosure-Giordana) and Dillon Byrne (Champion System).

But the pace proved too much for Byrne and he dropped back with three laps remaining, leaving the big guns of Wilkinson, Partridge and Briggs to fight it out.

In the sprint it was 34-year-old Lancashire rider Wilkinson – whose previous best performance in the Eddie Soens was second to Chris Newton in 2003 - who took the win, with Briggs narrowly behind and Partridge similarly close, while the bunch trailed in around half a minute later.

“It’s great to get a win early in the season, both for me personally and for Team Raleigh too,” said Wilkinson, who rode for Team Raleigh in the Tour of the Mediterranean and the Tour du Haut Var in the south of France last month.

“It was quite cold, but other than that it was perfect conditions today,” he added. “It took a fair bit of riding to get the early groups back. But once it was together the big teams, like Team Raleigh and Rapha Condor, put in a lot of work to make something happen.

“Once we were clear it took the pressure off a bit, but as we got near the finish I knew it would be between me and Briggs. We’ve had plenty of tussles over the years, and I knew he was my main rival.

“But he was third wheel coming round the final corner, and I had just enough in the tank to lead it out from there and hold on for the win.”


1 Ian Wilkinson (Team Raleigh) 1:40:05
2 Graham Briggs (Rapha Condor-JLT)
3 Rob Partridge (Velosure-Giordana) all at same time
4 Chris Opie (Rapha Condor-JLT) at 7sec
5 Felix English (Rapha Condor-JLT)
6 Evan Oliphant (Team Raleigh)
7 Alex Blain (Team Raleigh)
8 Morgan Kneisky (Team Raleigh)
9 Matt Cronshaw (Velosure-Giordana)
10 Philip West (VC St Raphael) all at some time


View Full Report

Confirmed Results

Race E/1/2/3/4

Position Name Club name Rider status Category Points
1 Ian Wilkinson Raleigh GAC Finished Elite 10
2 Graham Briggs JLT Condor Finished Elite 8
3 Robert Partridge Giordana-Mitsubishi Electric R... Finished Elite 7
4 Chris Opie JLT Condor Finished Elite 6
5 Felix English JLT Condor Finished Elite 5
6 Evan Oliphant Raleigh GAC Finished Elite 4
7 Alexandre Blain Raleigh GAC Finished Elite 0
8 Morgan Kneisky Finished 0
9 Matt Cronshaw Giordana-Mitsubishi Electric R... Finished Elite 1
10 Philip West VC St Raphael Finished 3rd 1

Disclaimer: This event listing has been supplied by a registered event organiser. The views and statements expressed herein do not necessarily reflect the views of British Cycling or its associated federations. British Cycling does not warrant the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of those views or statements and does not accept any legal liability whatsoever arising from any reliance on the views, statements and subject matter of the event listing. This content may include hyperlinks to other web sites that are not owned or controlled by British Cycling. British Cycling has no control over, and assumes no responsibility for, the content, privacy policies, or practices of any third party websites. All content of communications between event organisers and entrants should adhere to our acceptable usage policy https://www.britishcycling.org.uk/acceptableuse. If you believe any content to be inappropriate please report it to events@britishcycling.org.uk

Improve your cycling with British Cycling's Ridesmart