Cross: Briggs wins again in Rossington cross

Cross: Briggs wins again in Rossington cross

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Rossington Welfare Ground, near Doncaster
Event: 22 December 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

RAPHA Condor pro Graham Briggs put his local knowledge to good use when he won the Rossington Cross, round 14 of the Lincolnshire League, on Sunday.

Briggs hails from the South Yorkshire village, and led the race virtually from start to finish, with Nottingham rival David Fletcher (Orange Monkey) taking second spot, two minutes back.

Briggs, who last won his home race in 2010, hit the front on the opening circuit of a field, meaning he was in front as they headed into the wooded section which was mainly single track and difficult to overtake.

Once out of the woods his lead had grown, and he steadily pulled clear of his rivals to take the victory.

Fletcher was part of a chasing group which included Lincolnshire League winner George Thompson (Sleaford Wheelers) and junior Jake Poole (S2 Cycles). Poole dropped back to an eventual fifth place, 3-40 behind Briggs, while Fletcher didn’t manage to shake off Thompson until the last circuit, beating him by nine seconds.

Pedalsport’s Mike Young was best of the veterans on a day when several Yorkshire Series riders made the trip East, while Empella’s Tracy Fletcher was fastest female.

VC Lincoln’s James Armstrong was victorious by 23 seconds in the youth race, with second place going to Sherwood Pines rider Harry Lewis who was just two seconds ahead of Max Williamson (Lincsquad).


1 Graham Briggs (Rapha Condor) 56:40
2 David Fletcher (Orange Monkey) @ 1:59
3 George Thompson (Sleaford Wheelers) @ 2:08
4 Ben Eedy (Empella) @ 3:12
5 Jake Poole (S2 Cycles) @ 3:40
6 Gareth Whittall (Clay Cross RT) @ 3:56
7 Richard Baldwin (Bike Box Alan) @ 3:57
8 Mike Young (Pedalsport CC) @ 3:58
9 Chris Metcalfe (Charge Bikes) @ 4:08
10 Darryl Hewson (Ellmore Factory Racing) @4:13
Juniors: Jake Poole.
Veterans: Mike Young.
Women: Tracy Fletcher (Empella).
Over-50s: Andy Webb (Kenilworth Wheelers).

1 James Armstrong (VC Lincoln) 5 laps in 26-58
2 Harry Lewis (Sherwood Pines) @ 23sec
3 Max Williamson (Lincsquad) @ 25sec
4 Owyn Wallace (Arrow Cycles) @ 44sec
5 Ben Turner (Dinnington RC) @ 2:39
6 Jenson Young (Pedalsport CC) @ 3:16

Under-14s: Jenson Young.
Girls: Hannah Yell (VC Lincoln).

1 Max Poole (Lincsquad) 3 laps in 13:00
2 Christopher Hilbert (VC Lincoln) @ 11sec
3 Henry Hollyman (Kirklees CA) @ 34sec
Girls: Kayleigh Wells (Yorkshire Velo).

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.