Cross: Whitehead wins again on the Isle of Mull

Cross: Whitehead wins again on the Isle of Mull

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Glengorm Castle, Tobermory, Isle of Mull
Event: 14 December 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Course specialist Dan Whitehead rode away from the rest of the field in gale-force winds to win the sixth and final round of the Ridley Bikes Scottish Series at Tobermory on the Isle of Mull.

Winner in 2011, the 40-year-old Bike Station Ballater veteran finished around a minute clear of second-placed Ewan Thorburn (Nevis Cyces) after eight laps of the Glengorm Castle course.

Scottish championship silver medallist Stephen Jackson (Glasgow United CC) was an equally clear winner of the race for veterans, juniors and women, but – third in the overall table – it wasn’t enough to overhaul John Woodrow (Sandy Wallace Cycles) whose second place on the day clinched the overall runner-up spot.


1 Dan Whitehead (British Cycling Private Member)
2 Ewan Thorburn (Nevis Cycles RT)
3 Paul McInally (BC Private Member)
4 Ross Mallen (RAF CC)
5 Edward Addis (Equipe Velo Ecosse)
6 Graeme Warren (BC Private Member)
7 Richard McDonald (Equipe Velo Ecosse)
8 Ian Dunlop (VC Moulin)
9 Ben Thompson (Nevis Cycles RT)
10 Simon Fairfull (VC Moulin)

1 Stephen Jackson (Glasgow United CC)
2 John Woodrow (Sandy Wallace Cycles)
3 Harry Johnston (Team Thomsons Cycles)
4 Jamie Mason (West Lothian Clarion CC)
5 Simon Muir (VC Moulin)
6 Michael Nally (Dunfermline CC)
7 Ronald Barker (Rockhard MBC)
8 Crawford Carrick-Anderson (Peebles CC)
9 James Melville (Glasgow United CC)
10 Conor Nally (
Over-50: Brendan Roe (BC Private Member)
Junior: Harry Johnston
Women: Lucy Grant (Peebles CC)

1 Joseph Nally (
2 Stephen Dent (Nevis Cycles RT)
3 Conner Johnstone (Team Leslie Bike Shop)
4 Calum Grant (BC Private Member)
5 Calum Shackley (Glasgow Riderz)
6 Struan Pryde (Deeside Thistle CC)
Under-16 girl: Rhona Callander (Stirling BC)
Under-14: Calum Grant
Under-14 girl: Emily Field (Stirling BC)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.