Cross: Banham solos to victory in Newport

Cross: Banham solos to victory in Newport

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Newport Rugby Club, Shropshire
Event: 1 December 2013
Report: Ben Goddard/ Snowdon Sports

Peter Banham (Fred Williams Cycles) secured overall victory in the West Midlands Series with a fourth win of the series in the final round in Newport Shropshire.

Newport Shropshire CC were the organisers of the final round of the series and laid out a flat course with a few short banks which lead to some fast racing.

After his mechanical problem last week Banham, aged 25 and from Bromsgrove, lead from the front and kept extending his lead to a winning margin of 1 minute 16.

Behind Andrew Tamplin (Bicicielo Birmingham) held off the charge of veteran Phil Blacker to claim second with Blacker taking third.

In the Veterans/Women and Junior event, junior rider Anthony Neave (Stourbridge CC) road from the front for a fine solo victory ahead of first veteran Peter Harris (Pearce Cycles RT).

In the youth event, Keir Lewis (Stratford CC) road to his first victory of the West Midland Cyclo-Cross series thanks to a dominant display of riding.


Senior/Vets 40-50:
1 Peter Banham (Fred Williams Cycles)
2 Andrew Tamplin (Bicicielo Birmingham)
3 Phil Blacker (Team Jewson) 1st Veteran
4 Stephen Knight (Team Jewson) 2nd Veteran
5 Philip Hinch (Brotherton Cycles)
6 Gary Howard (unattached)
7 Steff Chandler (unattached)
8 Jordan Peacock (Rugby Velo)
9 Stephen Whitehouse (Bicicielo Birmingham)
10 Gregory Slater (Lichfield City CC)

1 Anthony Neave (Stourbridge CC) 1st Junior
2 Peter Harris (Pearce Cycles RT) 1st Veteran50+
3 Ian Watts (Wrekinsport CC)
4 Peter Turner (Derby Mercury)
5 Peter Busby (Team Jewson)
6 David Garrett (Rugby Velo)
Women: Lydia Gurley (Birmingham University)

1 Keir Lewis (Stratford CC)
2 Joshua Gunn (Solihull CC)
3 Toby Barnes (Lichfield City CC) 1st under-14
Under-16 girl: Chloe Ralph (Solihull CC)
Under-14 girl: Abby Andrews (Solihull CC)
Under-12 boy: Emile Alexander (Lichfield City CC)
Under-12 girl: Josie Nelson (Solihull CC)
Under-10 boy: Christian Stevens
Under-10 girl: Daisy Rollason

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.