Cross: Payton wins in Worcester

Cross: Payton wins in Worcester

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Top Barn Farm, Holt Heath, Worcester
Event: 24 November 2013
Report: Ben Goddard/Snowdon Sports

Top Barn was the venue for the penultimate round of the West Midlands Cyclo-Cross League and a flat course greeted riders around the scenic lake.

There was a few steep banks and a very bumpy section but most of the course was fast which led to some exciting racing.

Tom Payton (Isla Bikes) was victorious in the Senior and Veterans (40-50) race but he had opposition in the form of Peter Banham (Fred Williams Cycles).

The two worked together building up a good lead before Banham suffered a broken rear mech and Payton road to victory.

Darren Atkins (Team Jewson), starting with the veterans a minute behind the senior race, fought through the field to take second place but he could not catch Payton. Joe Fox (MG Maxifuel) got the better of Jeremy Hicks (Rugby Velo) for third place.

The Vets50+, juniors and women's race was the first action packed race which looked to be won by junior rider James Garratt (Welland Valley), but a resurgent Philip Roach (Team Jewson) had other ideas. Roach rode from starting with the veterans, over a minute behind, up to Garratt, passing him on the final lap and taking victory.

The Youth race was dominated by Solihull CC team mates Jake Stewart and Cameron Biddle, who distanced the opposition working together. Stewart got the better of his team mate in the sprint.

First under-14 in fifth place overall was Lewis Askey (Lichfield City CC), who got the better of his team mate Toby Barnes.



1 Tom Payton Islabikes 00:51:32

2 Darren Atkins Private Member 00:51:53

3 Joe Fox MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling 00:52:32

4 Jeremy Hicks Rugby Velo 00:52:46

5 Joe Atkins Coventry Road Club 00:53:22

6 Steven Roben 00:53:29

7 Peter Banham Fred Williams Cycles 00:53:55

8 Andrew Tamplin Bicicielo Birmingham 00:54:04

9 Phil Blacker Team Jewson/Thule/Kinesis/CNP/MI Racing-Ride 00:54:13

10 Philip Hinch Brotherton Cycles 00:54:19

11 Stephen Knight Team Jewson/Thule/Kinesis/CNP/MI Racing-Ride 00:54:54

12 Michael Riley Team Jewson/Thule/Kinesis/CNP/MI Racing-Ride 00:55:24

13 Gary Howard Private Member 00:55:43

14 James Garrett Rugby Velo 00:56:15

15 Gareth Scott Beacon Roads CC 00:56:16

16 Daniel Watts 00:56:30

17 Jordan Peacock Rugby Velo 00:56:31

18 Colin Miller Coventry Road Club 00:57:31

19 Ed Moseley 00:57:41

20 Matthew Smart Coventry Road Club 00:51:46

Over-50s and Junior Women:

1 Phillip Roach

2 James Garratt Welland Valley CC

3 Michael Davies Team Pedal Power

4 Anthony Neave Stourbridge CC

5 Kevin Payton Stourbridge CC

6 David Creber

7 Peter Harris Pearce Cycles RT

8 Peter Busby Team Jewson/Thule/Kinesis/CNP/MI Racing-Ride

9 Andy Webb Kenilworth Wheelers CC

10 Peter Turner Derby Mercury RC

11 Josh Brooks

12 Ian Watts Wrekinsport CC

13 George Woodhead Lichfield City CC

14 Gary Hipwell Rugby Velo

15 Philip Evans Coventry Road Club

16 Peter Mooney

17 Andy Jones Wolverhampton Whls

18 Peter Bromwich Private Member

19 Alessandro Toso Halesowen A & CC

20 Hannah Payton Team CTC


1 Jake Stewart Solihull CC u16M

2 Cameron Biddle Solihull CC u16M

3 Keir Lewis Stratford CC u16M

4 Oliver Dighton Halesowen A & CC u16M

5 Lewis Askey Lichfield City CC u14M

6 Toby Barnes Lichfield City CC u14M

7 Jacob Knight Solihull CC u14M

8 Louis Killworth Welland Valley CC u16M

9 Josef Feiven Solihull CC u16M

10 Stan Pritchard u16M

11 Ryan Williamson u16M

12 Adam Aitken Mid Shropshire Whls u16M

13 Devon Round Mid Shropshire Whls u16M

14 Harrison Knight Solihull CC u14M

15 Gareth Richardson Redditch Road & Path CC u16M

16 Harvey Rollason Lichfield City CC u14M

17 Samuel Morris Wolverhampton Whls u16M

18 Xavier Sullivan-touye Solihull CC u16M

19 Marcus Holmes Lichfield City CC u14M

20 George Cann Halesowen A & CC u16M


1 Daniel Barnes Lichfield City CC u12M

2 Luke Simmonds Stratford CC u12M

3 Skip Snelson Team Milton Keynes u12M

4 Taylor Carr Lichfield City CC u12M

5 Emile Alexander Lichfield City CC u12M

6 Simon Wyllie Private Member u12M

7 David Hird Stratford CC u12M

8 Josie Nelson Solihull CC u12F

9 Jack Rootkin-gray Solihull CC u12M

10 Alex Coleston-shields Lichfield City CC u12M

11 Sam Wainwright Redditch Road & Path CC u12M

12 Josh Field Halesowen A & CC u12M

13 Matt Garner Welland Valley CC u12M

14 Conor Jones Solihull CC u12M

15 Alex Thomson Wolverhampton Whls u12M

16 Conor Murphy Stratford CC u12M

17 Rachel Mayhew Solihull CC u12F

18 Nathan Burns Halesowen A & CC u12M

19 Nathan Edensor Solihull CC u12M

20 William Perry Wolverhampton Whls u12M


1 Ben Askey Lichfield City CC u10M

2 Christian Stevens Solihull CC u10M

3 Alex Barker Halesowen A & CC u10M

4 Sullivan Berry Redditch Road & Path CC u10M

5 Oliver Tandy Solihull CC u10M

6 Joseph Brookes Halesowen A & CC u10M

7 Ruben Snelson Team Milton Keynes u10M

8 Benjamin Parr Solihull CC u10M

9 Reece Edgington Lichfield City CC u10M

10 Thomas White Wolverhampton Whls u10M

11 Benjamin Tomlinson Mid Shropshire Whls u10M

12 Daisy Rollason Lichfield City CC u10F

13 Spencer Corder Stratford CC u8M

14 Kian Traynor Welland Valley CC u10M

15 Fay Garner Welland Valley CC u10F

16 Cerys Simmonds Stratford CC u10F

17 Jake Nash Redditch Road & Path CC u10M

18 Taylor Stubbins Solihull CC u10M

19 Joe Andrews Solihull CC u10M

20 David Thomas u10M

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.