Cross: Green solos to victory in Sheffield

Cross: Green solos to victory in Sheffield

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Whitely Woods, Sheffield
Event: 27 October 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Arthur Green (Matlock CC) rode to his first senior victory, aged only 16, with a fine display of solo riding in round seven of the Yorkshire Points Series in Sheffield.

A gruelling course was laid out including a long climb meaning the strongest prevailed in this latest round.

From the start it was junior companion Tom Seaman (Nutcracker Racing) who flew out of the blocks taking Green with him for the first two laps.

On the third lap Green took control of the race distancing Seaman and by the fourth lap he had a 25 second lead over Seaman.

Behind a group of three including James Thompson (Langsett Cycles), Rob Partridge (UK Youth) and Simon Maudsley (Dirtwheels Cycles) were working together and overhauled Seaman who was suffering from his early efforts.

Then the group started attacking each other first Partridge went clear before being dragged back and then Thompson eventually distanced the pair and set off in chase of Green.

The gap was falling down all the time on the last lap but Green held on to take a 19 second victory from Thompson and Partridge took third.

In the veterans race Chris Taylor, from Brighouse took his second win of the season to add to his win in round four.

He finished 25 seconds clear of Dan Cook (High Peak Cycles) in second and Mike Young (Pedalsport CC) in third.

First lady home was Juliet Horrocks (Hope Factory Racing) and first veteran over-50 was Pete Wilkin (Fietsen Tempo).

Alfie Moses (Paul Mines Cycles) was the victor in the youth race taking a six second victory from Robert Scott (Pedalsport CC) with his team mate Jenson Young taking a fine third and first under-14.


1 Arthur Green (Matlock CC) 56:36
2 James Thompson (Langsett Cycles) @19sec
3 Rob Partridge (UK Youth) @43sec
4 Simon Maudsley (Dirtwheels Cycles)
5 Richard Knowles (unattached)
6 Jiri Klekner (Wheelspin Cycles)
7 Tom Seamon (Nutcracker Racing)
8 Tom Hooper (unattached)
9 Edwin Oliver-Evans (Boneshakers)
10 David Morris (Harrogate Nova)

1 Chris Taylor (Pedalsport CC) 39:53
2 Dan Cook (High Peak Cycles) @25sec
3 Mike Young (Pedalsport CC) @39sec
4 John Hick (Holme Valley Whls)
5 Adrian Lawrence (Team Elite)
6 Steven Bottomley (Crosstrax)
7 Chris Young (Pedalsport CC)
8 Philip Hinchliffe (Braford RCC)
9 Chris Green (Matlock CC)
10 Richard Binks (Clay Cross)
Women: Juliet Horrocks (Hope Factory Racing)
Over-50s: Pete Wilkin (Fietsen Tempo)

1 Alfie Moses (Paul Mines Cycles) 27:49
2 Robert Scott (Pedalsport CC) @6sec
3 Jenson Young (Pedalsport CC) @2:35
4 Lucy Horrocks (Hope Factory Racing)

Under-14s: Jenson Young. Girls: Lucy Horrocks.

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.