Cross: Klekner wins in Yorkshire Points Series

Cross: Klekner wins in Yorkshire Points Series

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Huddersfield New College, Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Event: 20 October 2013
Report: Clare Crabtree/Snowdon Sports

Securing his first victory in the series, Jiri Klekner (Wheelspin Cycles) won round six of the Yorkshire Points Series staged at Huddersfield New College on Sunday.

The 28-year-old Huddersfield based rider crossed the line almost a minute clear of his nearest rival after mastering a new and challenging course at the venue, which was greeted by a mainly dry and sunny day which had only the briefest of showers.

Second spot went to Benny Pygott (Paul Milnes-Bradford Olympic) who was 47 seconds down, while third was Simon Maudsley (Dirtwheels Cycles), another 23 seconds off the pace.

All three had been at the front of the race early on, alongside junior Tom Seaman (Nutcracker), but it wasn’t long before Klekner hit the front and gradually pulled clear.

Elsewhere, Pedalsport CC siblings Chris and Mike Young secured a one-two in the veterans race, while their team-mate Chris Hick took third to give Pedalsport CC a clean sweep of the podium.

It proved to be a good day for the Horrocks family, with Mark Horrocks (Hope Factory Racing) winning the veterans over-50s race, while wife Juliet (Hope Factory Racing) was fastest woman and daughter Lucy Horrocks (Hope Factory Racing) being the best girl in the youth race.

Mark took victory in the over-50s from Pete Wilkin (Fietsen Tempo) while Wayne Nicholson (York Cycleworks) was third.

And Juliette was victorious in the women’s race ahead of Norton Wheelers’ Hannah Saville, with Ruby Pilling (Wakefield Tri Club) third.

And in the youth race, Alfie Moses (Paul Milnes-Bradford Olympic) won from Robert Scott (Pedalsport CC). Euan Cameron (East Bradford CC) was best Under-14, while Lucy Horrocks (Hope) was best girl.


1 Jiri Klekner (Wheelspin Cycles) 46:53
2 Benny Pygott (Paul Milnes-Bradford Olympic RT) @ 1:10
3 Simon Maudsley (Dirtwheels Cycles) @ 1:10
4 Tom Seaman (Nutcracker)
5 Tom Hooper (unattached)
6 Andy Johnson (Yorkshire Velo)
7 Ady Wood (Dirtwheels)
8 Duncan Warner (Airedale Olympic)
9 Richard Knowles (unattached)
10 Richard Crabtree (Pedalsport)

1 Chris Young (Pedalsport CC)
2 Mike Young (Pedalsport CC)
3 Chris Taylor (Pedalsport CC)
4 John Hick (Holme Valley Wheelers)
5 Richard Binks (Clay Cross RT)
6 Stephen Bottomley (Crosstrax)

1 Juliet Horrocks (Hope Factory Racing)
2 Hannah Saville (Norton Wheelers)
3 Ruby Pilling (Wakefield Tri Club)

Veterans over-50s:
1 Mark Horrocks (Hope Factory Racing)
2 Pete Wilkin (Fietsen Tempo)
3 Wayne Nicholson (York Cycleworks)

1 Alfie Moses (Paul Milnes-Bradford Olympic)
2 Robert Scott (Pedalsport CC)
3 Harry Hardcastle (Kirklees Cycling Academy)
4 Euan Cameron (East Bradford CC)
5 Matt Taylor (Pedalsport CC)
Under-14s: Euan Cameron. Girls: Lucy Horrocks (Hope Factory Racing)

1 Henry Hollyman (Kirklees Cycling Academy
2 Eva Oxley (Kirklees Cycling Academy)
3 George Sotherby (East Bradford CC)
Girls: Eva Oxley.

1 Luca Longo (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)
2 Tom Scott (Sheffield Stars)
3 Jake Powell (Otley CC)
Girls: Holly Devon (Pedalsport CC)

1 Oliver Hick (unattached)
2 William Huddleston (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)
3 Dan Devon (Pedalsport CC)
Girls: Alice Fleetham (Wakefield Junior Tri Club).

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.